MindWealth

BUILDING PERSONAL WEALTH FROM INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS

A thorough examination of the economic, political, and cultural treatment of IP.

A veteran businessman assesses the state of intellectual property rights in the United Kingdom and beyond.

In this debut business book, Jones looks at the development of IP concepts in the U.K. as well as their current situation in the country. He also compares the British IP infrastructure and culture to that of the United States. The book recommends that readers pay closer attention to intellectual property in all its forms—including patents, copyrights, and trademarks—as a means of developing economic growth through manufacturing. Jones calls for a reevaluation of government involvement in IP creation and regulation, as well as a shift in mindset to draw more attention to IP creators. In support of his call for a sharper focus on intellectual property rights, which he abbreviates as IPR, Jones suggests new terminology for the subject, including “iprimigration” (immigration to work for companies with desirable IP), “iprology—the study of IPR and its impact on people’s wealth,” and “iprastack—a stack of IPR leading to the final product or service.” Neologisms aside, the prose is often convoluted (“I introduce the US Congress because the US Constitution and Bill or Rights formalised the Congress’s role in intellectual property before it was termed such and has possibly skewed the international IP landscape”), resulting in an overlong book. Some portions might have benefited from further review, including unsubstantiated assumptions (“In a leap of logic, which I could link conceptually through investment models...”) and notations (“It has also been reported (source unknown) that intellectual-property theft (in the US?) is up from $59 billion in 2001 to $250 billion in 2004”). On the whole, however, Jones displays a clear command of his subject matter, both conceptually and factually. The book’s arguments might have been rendered more concisely, but they do present a coherent, reasonable analysis of the role of intellectual property in the 21st-century economy.

A thorough examination of the economic, political, and cultural treatment of IP.

Pub Date: July 15, 2015

ISBN: 978-1-5049-4119-8

Page Count: 616

Publisher: AuthorHouseUK

Review Posted Online: Sept. 2, 2015

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 3, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

THE CULTURE MAP

BREAKING THROUGH THE INVISIBLE BOUNDARIES OF GLOBAL BUSINESS

These are not hard and fast rules, but Meyer delivers important reading for those engaged in international business.

A helpful guide to working effectively with people from other cultures.

“The sad truth is that the vast majority of managers who conduct business internationally have little understanding about how culture is impacting their work,” writes Meyer, a professor at INSEAD, an international business school. Yet they face a wider array of work styles than ever before in dealing with clients, suppliers and colleagues from around the world. When is it best to speak or stay quiet? What is the role of the leader in the room? When working with foreign business people, failing to take cultural differences into account can lead to frustration, misunderstanding or worse. Based on research and her experiences teaching cross-cultural behaviors to executive students, the author examines a handful of key areas. Among others, they include communicating (Anglo-Saxons are explicit; Asians communicate implicitly, requiring listeners to read between the lines), developing a sense of trust (Brazilians do it over long lunches), and decision-making (Germans rely on consensus, Americans on one decider). In each area, the author provides a “culture map scale” that positions behaviors in more than 20 countries along a continuum, allowing readers to anticipate the preferences of individuals from a particular country: Do they like direct or indirect negative feedback? Are they rigid or flexible regarding deadlines? Do they favor verbal or written commitments? And so on. Meyer discusses managers who have faced perplexing situations, such as knowledgeable team members who fail to speak up in meetings or Indians who offer a puzzling half-shake, half-nod of the head. Cultural differences—not personality quirks—are the motivating factors behind many behavioral styles. Depending on our cultures, we understand the world in a particular way, find certain arguments persuasive or lacking merit, and consider some ways of making decisions or measuring time natural and others quite strange.

These are not hard and fast rules, but Meyer delivers important reading for those engaged in international business.

Pub Date: May 27, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-61039-250-1

Page Count: 288

Publisher: PublicAffairs

Review Posted Online: April 15, 2014

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 1, 2014

Categories:
Close Quickview