Deadly Pleasures magazine has revealed the finalists for the 2024 Barry Awards, given annually to outstanding works of crime fiction.

Dennis Lehane was shortlisted in the best mystery or crime novel category for Small Mercies, along with S.A. Cosby for All the Sinners Bleed and Adrian McKinty for The Detective Up Late. Lou Berney was named a finalist for Dark Ride, as were Eli Cranor for Ozark Dogs and Jordan Harper for Everybody Knows.

Deepti Kapoor was named a finalist in the best first mystery or crime novel category for Age of Vice, along with Michael Bennett for Better the Blood, I.S. Berry for The Peacock and the Sparrow, Bruce Borgos for The Bitter Past, Amy Chua for The Golden Gate, Nina Simon for Mother-Daughter Murder Night, and Iris Yamashita for City Under One Roof.

The finalists for best paperback original mystery or crime novel were Mia P. Manansala’s Murder and Mamon, Rick Mofina’s Everything She Feared, Jake Needham’s Who the Hell Is Harry Black?, Jesse Q. Sutanto’s Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers, Vanda Symon’s Expectant, and Scott Von Doviak’s Lowdown Road.

Making the best thriller shortlist were Mark Greaney for Burner, Mick Herron for The Secret Hours, John Lawton for Moscow Exile, Anthony McCarten for Going Zero, T.J. Newman for Drowning, and Ruth Ware for Zero Days.

The Barry Awards, named after fan reviewer Barry Gardner, were established in 1997. This year’s winners will be announced at the Nashville Bouchercon on Aug. 29, 2024.

Michael Schaub is a contributing writer.