The Horror Writers Association announced the finalists for its Bram Stoker Awards, given annually for “superior achievement” in horror literature.

Bird Box author Josh Malerman made the shortlist in the novel category for his latest book, Daphne, along with Gabino Iglesias for The Devil Takes You Home, Alma Katsu for The Fervor, Gwendolyn Kiste for Reluctant Immortals, and Catriona Ward for Sundial.

In the first novel category, the finalists were Erin E. Adams for Jackal, Isabel Cañas for The Hacienda, KC Jones for Black Tide, Christi Nogle for Beulah, and Ally Wilkes for All the White Spaces.

Making the middle grade novel shortlist were Delilah S. Dawson for Camp Scare, Daniel Kraus for They Stole Our Hearts, Ally Malinenko for This Appearing House, Lora Senf for The Clackity, and Lisa Stringfellow for A Comb of Wishes.

The finalists in the young adult novel category were Ann Fraistat for What We Harvest, Tiffany D. Jackson for The Weight of Blood, Kate Alice Marshall for These Fleeting Shadows, Robert P. Ottone for The Triangle, V.E. Schwab for Gallant, and Vincent Tirado for Burn Down, Rise Up.

The Bram Stoker Awards were established in 1987. Previous winners include Joyce Carol Oates for Zombie, Nancy Holder for Dead in the Water, and Stephen Graham Jones for The Only Good Indiansand My Heart Is a Chainsaw.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during a banquet at StokerCon in Pittsburgh on June 17. A full list of finalists is available at the organization’s website.

Michael Schaub, a journalist and regular contributor to NPR, lives near Austin, Texas.