The Los Angeles Times announced the winners of its annual book prizes at a ceremony Friday, with Ed Park, Roxanna Asgarian, and Tananarive Due among the authors taking home the literary awards.

Park won the fiction prize for Same Bed Different Dreams, the novel that a Kirkus critic praised as “a brash, rangy, sui generis feat of speculative fiction.” Asgarian took home the current interest award for We Were Once A Family: A Story of Love, Death, and Child Removal in America, which previously won the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction.

Due was named the winner in the science fiction, fantasy & speculative fiction prize for The Reformatory, while Ivy Pochoda was awarded the mystery/thriller prize for Sing Her Down. The young adult literature prize went to Amber McBride for Gone Wolf.

Gregg Hecimovich won the biography prize for The Life and Times of Hannah Crafts: The True Story of The Bondwoman’s Narrative, while the history prize was awarded to Joya Chatterji for Shadows at Noon: The South Asian Twentieth Century. Winning the science & technology award was Eugenia Cheng for Is Math Real? How Simple Questions Lead Us To Mathematics’ Deepest Truths.

The newspaper’s book awards were established in 1980. Previous winners have included Louise Erdrich for Love Medicine, S.A. Cosby for Blacktop Wasteland, and Frank McCourt for Angela’s Ashes. A full list of this year’s winners is available at the Times website.

Michael Schaub is a contributing writer.