Books by Amanda Haley

SNOWZILLA by Janet Lawler
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"Ultimately like Snowzilla—fluff. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Community dissension and compromise are brought down to a kid's level in this tale of a giant snowman. Read full book review >
MAIA AND THE MONSTER BABY by Elizabeth Winthrop
Released: Aug. 15, 2012

"No monstrous creativity here, but fanciful fun as friends adapt to their new family roles. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Maia and her lovable monster delight each night in spirited play until they lose their status as their parents' only offspring. Read full book review >
THE SECRET CHICKEN SOCIETY by Judy Cox
Released: April 1, 2012

"Chickens and children are lucky to live in this family. (Fiction. 6-10)"
Daniel, who loves all animals, learns a lot about chickens when he takes five chicks home. Read full book review >
WILL PRINCESS ISABEL EVER SAY PLEASE? by Steve Metzger
Released: April 1, 2012

"If silliness is what was aimed for, it sort of succeeds—but, if so, it is not silly enough. (Picture book. 5-7)"
What can you say when even the jacket blurb calls it "a lighthearted lesson in humility"? Read full book review >
READING TO PEANUT by Leda Schubert
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2011

"Nicely captures the excitement of learning to read and write, complete with the feeling of accomplishment that ensues. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Learning to read can be an adventure, as this determined little girl and her pup demonstrate. Read full book review >
NORA AND THE TEXAS TERROR by Judy Cox
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 15, 2010

"Fans of Johanna Hurwitz and Beverly Cleary will embrace these two modern cousins. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third graders Nora and Ellie are cousins, but they struggle to be friends. Read full book review >
THE ALL-AMERICAN JUMP AND JIVE JIG by M.P. Hueston
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2010

"Still, an energetic prompt to get young listeners up and moving—and, best possible outcome, inventing their own dances. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A chance to dance, all over the country. Read full book review >
SPARK THE FIREFIGHTER by Stephen Krensky
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Haley's amusing watercolors lighten up what could be a scary subject, but it's probably not the best choice for children who particularly fear fire. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In the town of Hardscrabble, volunteer firefighters aren't easy to come by. Read full book review >
YOU CAN’T LAY AN EGG IF YOU’RE AN ELEPHANT by Fred Ehrlich
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2007

"Disappointing. (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-8)"
This gentle introduction to animal birth compares the eggs and babies of small and large birds, small and large mammals, chimps and human beings. Read full book review >
YOU CAN’T SEE A DODO AT THE ZOO by Fred Ehrlich
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2005

"Though flawed, this is a good introduction to the subject and will likely whet reader's appetites. (glossary) (Picture book/nonfiction. 5-10)"
Ehrlich and Haley team up again in this informative exploration of extinct and endangered animals. Read full book review >
YOU CAN’T TAKE YOUR BODY TO A REPAIR SHOP by Harriet Ziefert
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2004

"Make an appointment with Margaret O. Hyde's Disease Book (1997) instead. (Nonfiction. 7-9)"
Working with a medical doctor, the prolific Ziefert embeds basic information on the causes and symptoms of colds, stomach- and headaches, zits, blisters, allergies, and other common maladies in a slurry of heavy-handed humor (the "purpose" of carsickness "is to spread vomit all over the back seat of the car, so that parents can learn a lesson about long, boring car rides!") and lame versified asides: "I have a little plantar wart / That goes everywhere with me. / It's quite happy on my foot / But I think it's UGH-a-lee!" Read full book review >
33 USES FOR A DAD by Harriet Ziefert
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2004

"Altogether, a fun way to show children that dads do many things in families and to tell dads they're appreciated. (Picture book. 2-8)"
Like moms, dads need credit for all the "jobs" they do in the family. Read full book review >
YOU CAN’T SEE YOUR BONES WITH BINOCULARS by Harriet Ziefert
HEALTH
Released: Dec. 1, 2003

"Among the other excellent books available on the topic, this one lacks bones—it doesn't quite stand up. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-7)"
Ziefert provides a quick scan of the skeleton, organized along the old neck-bones-connected-to-the-shoulder-bone routine, with a lot of names of the bones, a few trivial asides—the topmost neck bone is called the Atlas, because it holds up the head—and not enough solid information. Read full book review >
YOU CAN’T BUY A DINOSAUR WITH A DIME by Harriet Ziefert
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2003

"Not for beginning savers or spenders. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Ziefert offers a tale about saving, spending, and saving again. Read full book review >
YOU CAN’T TASTE A PICKLE WITH YOUR EAR by Harriet Ziefert
SENSES
Released: Dec. 1, 2002

"Point out the "Let's Read and Find Out" series to children who want to probe a bit deeper. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
Aiming to raise the consciousnesses of newly fledged readers about their sensoria, the prolific Ziefert presents a breezy tally of basic facts about smell, touch, taste, hearing, and sight. Read full book review >
CAT HAT by Michelle Knudsen
Released: July 1, 2001

"Ralph might even find his way into story hours, paired up with that superstar cat or even with Jack Gantos's Rotten Ralph (1976), a very different kind of cat. (Easy reader. 5-7)"
Emergent readers with tightly limited word lists are notoriously difficult to write, especially when two of the words are already firmly enshrined in the shadow of that extremely well-known cat in the striped hat. Read full book review >
A BLOSSOM PROMISE by Amanda Haley
Released: Oct. 2, 1987

"With its deeper, darker undercurrent of impending real changes as the Blossoms grow older, this is the series' "concluding" volume; but it would be easy to forgive Byars for breaking that promise."
In her fourth book about the Blossoms, Byars gives us the best sort of sequel: an independent story that tells what happened next to favorite characters. Read full book review >
THE BLOSSOMS AND THE GREEN PHANTOM by Amanda Haley
Released: April 3, 1987

"It will be welcomed by those who enjoy funny stories—and stories that tell the truth."
At the beginning of this third book about the Blossoms, things look typical: Junior is in the barn building another impossible invention (a flying saucer made from air mattresses and garbage bags), and Pap is getting stuck in a dumpster while trying to rescue a puppy. Read full book review >