Books by Judy Cox

SNOW DAY FOR MOUSE by Judy Cox
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Readers will look forward to taking this snow-day romp again and again. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In his fourth outing (Haunted House, Haunted Mouse, 2011, etc.), Mouse has a snowy adventure that could easily make the jump to being a wordless Pixar short. Read full book review >
HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MRS. MILLIE! by Judy Cox
Released: May 1, 2012

"While the schtick may be getting a little old for everyday readers, clever teachers could turn this into a creative writing/art lesson that works for multiple grade levels. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Mrs. Millie's silliness with mixed-up words continues as her students plan a few birthday surprises, and this time, it is not just Mrs. Millie who gets her words wrong (Don't Be Silly, Mrs. Millie!, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >
THE SECRET CHICKEN SOCIETY by Judy Cox
Released: April 1, 2012

"Chickens and children are lucky to live in this family. (Fiction. 6-10)"
Daniel, who loves all animals, learns a lot about chickens when he takes five chicks home. Read full book review >
HAUNTED HOUSE, HAUNTED MOUSE by Judy Cox
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"Consider this a Halloween treat for children ready for longer, more visually complex picture-book fare. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Those charmed by Mouse's previous adventures in One is a Feast for Mouse: A Thanksgiving Tale (2009) and Cinco de Mouse-O! (2010) should prepare for gasps and giggles as he struggles through a series of (somewhat) unfortunate events. Read full book review >
NORA AND THE TEXAS TERROR by Judy Cox
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 15, 2010

"Fans of Johanna Hurwitz and Beverly Cleary will embrace these two modern cousins. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third graders Nora and Ellie are cousins, but they struggle to be friends. Read full book review >
CARMEN LEARNS ENGLISH by Judy Cox
FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"Muy bueno. (glossary) (Picture book. 4-8)"
An inventive teacher and a generous helping of internal strength takes Spanish-speaking Carmen over the language barrier when she starts school. Read full book review >
CINCO DE MOUSE-O! by Judy Cox
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2010

"Ebbeler's color-soaked illustrations avoid stereotypes and are a refreshing approach to Mexican folk art and traditions. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Mouse is ready for another fiesta adventure (One is a Feast for Mouse, 2009). Read full book review >
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"A sequel that can stand alone, this lively adventure will appeal to able middle-grade readers who like to learn as much as Frederick does. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
Following beautiful, cinnamon-scented Natasha, adventurous Frederick and his food-loving brother, Ishbu, leave their comfortable classroom cage and travel through Scotland and northern Europe to rescue her father, Professor Ratinsky, from the clutches of the nefarious Big Cheese. Read full book review >
ONE IS A FEAST FOR MOUSE by Judy Cox
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2008

"Greed goeth before a fall, however, in a slapstick climax children will relish. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Mouse creeps out on Thanksgiving Day as the human family enjoys its post-prandial nap. Read full book review >
PUPPY POWER by Judy Cox
ANIMALS
Released: May 15, 2008

"One cavil: The large typeface, coupled with Björkman's expressive, somewhat exaggerated, black-and-white drawings, would be much more accessible to new readers if the design allowed for more white space between lines and at the margins. (notes on puppy-training) (Fiction. 7-9)"
Impetuous third-grader Fran wins a prime spot in the class play and learns to control herself, thanks to puppy school. Read full book review >
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"Fast-paced and suspenseful, this is solid entertainment for the middle-grade reader. (Fiction. 8-12)"
After escaping from their comfortable classroom cage, two rat brothers journey around the world, caught up in a plot to steal a jeweled statue—the fabled Burmese Bandicoot—and to exterminate humankind. Read full book review >
THAT CRAZY EDDIE AND THE SCIENCE PROJECT OF DOOM by Judy Cox
FICTION
Released: June 15, 2005

"Fast-paced and realistic, this tale rings true for its young readers. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third-grader Matt and his best buddy Eddie want to win the $50 gift certificate prize for first place in the science fair. Read full book review >
DON’T BE SILLY, MRS. MILLIE! by Judy Cox
FICTION
Released: April 11, 2005

"MPSLUGMRS Millie's sillies will elicit snickers and participation, once through, but no more than that. (Picture book. 4-5)"
In a classroom setting, the harmless fun begins with the kindergartner's teacher teasing her class by telling them to hang up their "goats," do the "frog salute," and get out their paper and "penguins." Read full book review >
GO TO SLEEP, GROUNDHOG! by Judy Cox
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 15, 2004

"If young readers are sharing Groundhog's insomnia, a thorough note on the origins of Groundhog Day will give them something to chew on at book's end. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Groundhog doesn't know what he's been missing when he hibernates, but a case of insomnia gives him the opportunity in this toasty story of autumn and winter festivities. Read full book review >
MY FAMILY PLAYS MUSIC by Judy Cox
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 15, 2003

"A closing glossary explains some of the terms and musical genres mentioned here, but it's the pride this child takes in her family, and her place in that family, that readers will remember most clearly. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Here's a clan that outdoes even the Marsalis family. Read full book review >
COOL CAT, SCHOOL CAT by Judy Cox
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 15, 2002

"Unlikely situations, awkward writing (including strange similes and confusing shifts from third person to first person narration), and an undefined setting add up to an unsatisfying back-to-school story. (Fiction. 8-10)"
Gus and his family have just moved to a new apartment, but Gus is not making the most of his new start. Read full book review >
WEIRD STORIES FROM THE LONESOME CAFE by Judy Cox
FICTION
Released: April 1, 2000

"Though the Lonesome Cafe can't match Cynthia Rylant's Van Gogh Cafe (1995) for marvelous goingson, this will be a hit with young children, as well as reluctant readers old enough to twig to the cultural references. (Fiction. 7-9)"
The "Help Wanted" sign in a cafe window draws some unusual applicants in this breezy, tongue-in-cheek middle reader from the author of Mean Mean Maureen Green (1999). Read full book review >
MEAN, MEAN MAUREEN GREEN by Judy Cox
THIRD GRADE PET by Judy Cox
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 15, 1998

"The class, the teacher, even Brian are all casually realistic, and the story will surely have young readers clamoring for rats of their own. (b&w illustrations, not seen) (Fiction. 6-10)"
A girl with a fear of rats overcomes that aversion in this fast-paced classroom story, where the personalities of the students and a funny, alert teacher take center stage. Read full book review >
NOW WE CAN HAVE A WEDDING! by Judy Cox
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 15, 1998

"There are homey, familiar scenes of cooking in a variety of kitchens; the warm watercolor paintings contrast real-life domesticity with the exhilaration of the pending nuptials. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Perhaps only in New York City could a small girl go from one apartment to another in her building, helping friends of all nationalities prepare special foods for her sister Sallie's wedding. Read full book review >