Books by Christopher Bartley

Naked Shall I Return by Christopher Bartley
Released: July 31, 2015

"An often entertaining novel featuring some humor and some mystery."
In the latest novel from Bartley (Every Secret Thing, 2014, etc.), the moral and cynical gangster Ross Duncan hunts for a Chinese antique with a long history in storied San Francisco.Read full book review >
EVERY SECRET THING by Christopher Bartley
Released: Dec. 18, 2014

"Another solid, entertaining noir thriller from Bartley."
In Bartley's (A Bullet to Dream of, 2014, etc.) latest historical novel, a 1930s gangster with a conscience finds himself tangled up in big small-town mysteries involving murder, drugs and—most dangerous of all—young love.Read full book review >
A Bullet to Dream Of by Christopher Bartley
Released: May 6, 2014

"Another strong book about Duncan's attempts to do the right thing in an uncertain world."
In Bartley's (Unto the Daughters of Men, 2014, etc.) sixth historical noir, bank robber Ross Duncan tries to find a killer in Kansas City, Missouri, amid the fraying underworld peace. Read full book review >
SLEEP NOT, MY CHILD by Christopher Bartley
Released: July 31, 2013

"A superlative thriller that will set the hook for the rest of the series."
The 1930s bank robber Ross Duncan is back to work ona simple kidnapping job that precipitates double-crossings and murder in Bartley's (They Die Alone, 2012) historical noir series. Read full book review >
TO CATCH IS NOT TO HOLD by Christopher Bartley
Released: May 29, 2013

"A suave murder mystery and flawless noir landscape—another solid entry in the Bartley canon."
The fourth novel in Bartley's (For a Sin Offering, 2013, etc.) series featuring Bible-toting Ross Duncan follows him as he looks into murders connected to a bank job. Read full book review >
UNTO THE DAUGHTERS OF MEN by Christopher Bartley
Released: May 29, 2013

"Adds little to the Ross Duncan series, but as a self-contained mystery, it's a knockout."
In Bartley's (To Catch is Not to Hold, 2013, etc.) latest hard-boiled thriller, former bank robber Ross Duncan, commissioned to locate a wayward granddaughter, exposes blackmail and prostitution in 1934 New York. Read full book review >
FOR A SIN OFFERING by Christopher Bartley
Released: May 1, 2013

"Exquisite in its gloom; should earn even more Ross Duncan fans."
Ross Duncan searches 1934 Chicago for the ever-elusive Irishman in a tale of vengeance (Sleep Not, My Child, 2013, etc.), the third novel in Bartley's hard-boiled thriller series. Read full book review >
THEY DIE ALONE by Christopher Bartley
Released: Nov. 12, 2012

"A striking start to a series with solid action and arresting details but saddled with a bland hero."
A trigger-happy, Chandler-esque gangster story set in 1930s Chicago. Read full book review >