Books by David Handler

THE COAL BLACK ASPHALT TOMB by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: March 25, 2014

"Berger and Mitry's 10th case (The Snow White Christmas Cookie, 2012, etc.), set in a model old New England town, has an enjoyably twisty plot. The lead couple, despite the occasional descent into cuteness, is still more palatable than most of the starchy suspects."
A determined cop and the man in her life take on an old murder in their quaint New England town. Read full book review >
RUNAWAY MAN by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Aug. 20, 2013

"So what if Handler, best known for his Berger and Mitry series (The Blood-Red Indian Summer, 2011, etc.), isn't the keenest plotter in the genre? He definitely knows his way around adorable, cute and schmaltzy."
Introducing private eye Benji Golden, part nebbish, part mensch, who's surrounded by women with bountiful racks and wriggly tushes. Read full book review >
THE SNOW WHITE CHRISTMAS COOKIE by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Oct. 16, 2012

"Fans of Des and Mitch (The Blood Red Indian Summer, 2011, etc.) will giggle as Mitch decorates his Hanukkah bush with her teeny weeny yellow bikini. Others may think it's all bah, humbug."
Neither rain, nor sleet, nor dark of night can keep postmen from their appointed rounds. But how about murder? Read full book review >
THE BLOOD RED INDIAN SUMMER by David Handler
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Des (black) and Mitch (Jewish) are more appealing than usual (The Shimmering Blond Sister, 2010, etc.) as they deal with her father's depression and his parents' relocation."
A suspended NFL superstar and his entourage move to Connecticut. Read full book review >
THE SHIMMERING BLOND SISTER by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Oct. 12, 2010

"Though you're not likely to share Des and Mitch's infatuation with each other, you might just learn not to take everyone at face value."
Even in toney Dorset, background checks are advisable. Read full book review >
CLICK TO PLAY by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

"Harlan Coben wannabe Handler (The Sour Cherry Surprise, 2008, etc.) almost pulls it off until the pat revelations on that fifth tape drag his fantasy back down to earth. "
A Hollywood ending is rewritten. Read full book review >
THE SOUR CHERRY SURPRISE by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: July 1, 2008

"Des and Mitch (The Sweet Golden Parachute, 2006, etc.) have friskier sex lives apart than together. Apart from their extracurricular activities, it's mild entertainment at best."
Bedlam in the 'burbs. Read full book review >
THE SWEET GOLDEN PARACHUTE by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: March 29, 2006

"Mitch and Des (The Bright Silver Star, 2003, etc.) serve only fans of coy dialogue and romantic soul-searching. But Handler does better with wacky Poochie and chary aspiring novelist Justine, clearly the products of upscale Connecticut inbreeding."
Can a pudgy, Jewish movie critic and a bootylicious black state trooper find happiness in Connecticut? Read full book review >
THE BRIGHT SILVER STAR by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Nov. 10, 2003

"Not exactly a testimonial to marriage or a paean to suburban morality. Or to clever plotting either, but if you won't mind that the murderer is apparent very early on, a nicely delineated study of sins that are usually whispered about, at least in Connecticut."
Sex in the suburbs. Read full book review >
THE HOT PINK FARMHOUSE by David Handler
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 11, 2002

"Scads of movie references for fans of vintage horror, but the gratingly cute Berger-Desiree by-play and the usual blather about village charm versus modernization make this sequel less appealing than Berger's sharp debut (The Cold Blue Blood, 2001)."
Pudgy film critic Mitch Berger, a New York City Jew, and his unlikely love Desiree Mitry, a black cop with a sensational tush who's now contentedly directing traffic outside Center School in tony Dorset, Connecticut, discover that life and love in the 'burbs can be every bit as calamitous as in the big city. Read full book review >
THE COLD BLUE BLOOD by David Handler
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 22, 2001

"Here's hoping that Handler, creator of the Stewart Hoag series (The Man Who Loved Women to Death, 1997, etc.), explores this question in more first-rate puzzlers."
She's a lean, mean Vietnam vet who carries her Sig Sauer and her tough-girl attitude to work every day at the Connecticut State Police Major Crimes Squad. Read full book review >
THE MAN WHO LOVED WOMEN TO DEATH by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: May 1, 1997

"No feast for the fainthearted, then, even though most readers won't put it down before the last hypnotic page."
 Eighth in Edgar winner Handler's series showcasing rich, cool, self-searching novelist-ghostwriter-to-the-famous Stuart (Hoagy) Hoag (The Girl Who Ran Off With Daddy, 1996, etc.). Read full book review >
THE GIRL WHO RAN OFF WITH DADDY by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: April 1, 1996

"Gathering the suspects around Hoagy's own home tames his usual zany gaiety; this accomplished puzzler is probably as sober, even ruminative, as we'll ever see mystery's liveliest ghost."
 Where does Handler get those outrageous ideas for celebrity ghostwriter Hoagy Hoag's adventures (The Man Who Cancelled Himself, 1995, etc.)? Read full book review >
THE MAN WHO CANCELLED HIMSELF by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Feb. 7, 1995

"Even so, Handler's easy mastery of sitcom cant and sitcom madness will keep you reading long after you've given up on the conscientious, forgettable plot."
 TV comic Lyle Hudnut is in such deep doo-doo—he's been caught in a Vice sweep of a New York adult cinema—that he needs the best ghostwriter on earth to write his comeback autobiography. Read full book review >
THE BOY WHO NEVER GREW UP by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Sept. 8, 1992

"An ebullient exposÇ of what you only wish were Steven Spielberg's private life."
 Veteran ghostwriter Hoagy Hoag (The Woman Who Fell from Grace, etc.), bereft of his wife Merilee, is back in Hollywood to help Boy Wonder director Matthew Wax tell the story of his life—or his side of the story, since his wife Pennyroyal Brim, America's Sweetheart, has just filed for a messy divorce. Read full book review >
THE WOMAN WHO FELL FROM GRACE by David Handler
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Oct. 15, 1991

"Full of incredible coincidences and too cute by half—but Hoagy's laid-back humor is easy to take, and the convoluted mystery will keep you guessing midway through the finale."
 Edgar-winning Handler's hardcover debut—another headliner in Doubleday's new Perfect Crime series—takes his ghostwriter-sleuth Stewart Hoag to Staunton, Virginia, to work on the sequel to beloved historical blockbuster Oh, Shenandoah, at the request of the family of author Alma Glaze, killed 50 years ago in a car accident. Read full book review >