Books by Denise Mina

Denise Mina is the author of Garnethill, Exile, Resolution, and Deception. She lives in Glasgow.

THE LONG DROP by Denise Mina
Released: May 23, 2017

"A terrific exploration of crime and oppression."
Hard men work their will in 1950s Glasgow. Read full book review >
BLOOD, SALT, WATER by Denise Mina
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"Mina never stints on the criminal conspiracy or gallows humor, but some of her nightmare landscapes are molded more firmly than others. This one is sad and piercingly perceptive on small matters, but its big picture is less coherent."
DI Alex Morrow, whose fifth case takes her away from the depressing world of Mina's Glasgow (The Red Road, 2014, etc.), finds life just as sordid on the shores of Loch Lomond, even for locals who aren't getting murdered.Read full book review >
THE RED ROAD by Denise Mina
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"In addition to the usual indelible character studies, Mina provides the most compelling plot of Alex's four cases to date, with a new round of revelations that makes the Glasgow cops the most corrupt since Philip Marlowe looked under all those rocks in Bay City, Calif."
Fourteen years after Princess Diana died in a Paris automobile accident, the date of her death still casts a long shadow over the Strathclyde Police, in the fourth book featuring detective Alex Morrow. Read full book review >
GODS AND BEASTS by Denise Mina
Released: Feb. 26, 2013

"As Gallagher faces the ruin of his career, readers will wonder how Alex (The End of the Wasp Season, 2011, etc.) can possibly tie these cases together. Though the final surprise doesn't have the snap of logical inevitability, it's depressingly realistic."
Who would shoot an inoffensive retiree in the middle of an otherwise routine robbery? Read full book review >
Released: Sept. 26, 2011

"Not exactly a model of plot construction, but that's not why you read Mina, who takes you so deep inside her troubled characters that long after you turn the last page, you wonder if you'll ever get out again."
DS Alexandra Morrow's second murder investigation—it's far too lumpy to call a case—is even more death-haunted than her first (Still Midnight, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >
Released: March 22, 2010

"Little suspense, less mystery, but a startling exploration of characters who stubbornly refuse to stay in the boxes they've been assigned."
Mina trades the glum intensity of her exposés of Glasgow's seamy side (Slip of the Knife, 2007, etc.) for a police procedural that reveals strikingly similar results. Read full book review >
SLIP OF THE KNIFE by Denise Mina
Released: Feb. 13, 2008

"Mina, who has mastered the art of making the continuing elements of her series grim, deftly balances Paddy's family troubles against the Troubles."
Crime reporter-turned-columnist Paddy Meehan, of the Scottish Daily News (The Dead Hour, 2006, etc.), finally encounters a family with bigger problems than her own. Read full book review >
THE DEAD HOUR by Denise Mina
Released: July 10, 2006

"Mina meticulously creates a bleak, Dostoevskian world abandoned by light and spirit, populating it with sharply drawn characters."
The author of Field of Blood (2005) sends her dogged Glaswegian reporter-investigator trudging through a second case. Read full book review >
FIELD OF BLOOD by Denise Mina
Released: July 1, 2005

"Mina is a ruthlessly accomplished surgeon of souls who can strip her living characters as bare as Patricia Cornwell does her corpses."
It's 1981 when the murder of a three-year-old boy, based on the notorious James Bulger case, leads to another walk on Glasgow's wild side. Read full book review >
DECEPTION by Denise Mina
Released: Aug. 23, 2004

"A memorable portrait of a foundering marriage, as well as an unnervingly accomplished puzzler: the best yet from a still-rising star."
"Nothing bad ever happens to young professionals like us," a Glasgow psychiatrist tells her husband shortly before she's convicted of murder. Read full book review >
RESOLUTION by Denise Mina
Released: June 1, 2001

"Mina's canvas is so broad, so teeming, and so relentlessly sordid that the biggest surprise in this final chapter in Mina's not-to-be-missed Glasgow trilogy (Garnethill, 1999; Exile, 2001) is that she can pull off the climax her title promises."
"Everything was coming to an end," thinks Maureen O'Donnell glumly, and no wonder. Read full book review >
EXILE by Denise Mina
Released: March 1, 2001

"Dozens of memorable scenes and attendant monsters, but yoked this time to a tangled, forgettable plot."
As her brother Liam tells her, it's worse than unbelievable; it's statistically implausible that Maureen O'Donnell would know two people who got killed within six months. Read full book review >
GARNETHILL by Denise Mina
Released: April 1, 1999

"Mina writes with a pen dipped alternately in gallows humor and rage."
Maureen O'Donnell ought to be able to look down on the world from her flat atop Garnethill, the highest point in Glasgow, but instead the world's looking down on her. Read full book review >