Books by Frances Sherwood

Frances Sherwood teaches at Notre Dame University in South Bend, Indiana. She has written a book of stories and three previous novels, including Vindication and The Book of Splendor.

NIGHT OF SORROWS by Frances Sherwood
Released: April 10, 2006

"Topnotch storytelling; hypervivid history."
Amid the splendor and savagery of 16th-century Mexico, an epic drama unfolds, featuring bloody Uixachtecatl and a colonizing Christ, a lush culture and its civilizing barbarians, an Aztec princess and the ultimate conquistador, Hernán Cortés. Read full book review >
THE BOOK OF SPLENDOR by Frances Sherwood
Released: July 8, 2002

"Delightful: rich in its characters, vivid in its setting, and genuinely intriguing overall."
A rich historical from Sherwood (Green, 1995; Vindication, 1993) about 17th-century Prague's Rabbi Loew, his Golem, some English alchemists, and an obsessed Habsburg emperor. Read full book review >
GREEN by Frances Sherwood
Released: Aug. 1, 1995

"Despite the rich mix of culture, history, politics, and relentlessly offbeat characters: not much more than standard insights into family and finding oneself."
Disappointing second run from Sherwood (the highly touted Vindication, 1993), whose unmemorable protagonistafter scarcely credible encounters with trendy icons and rebels of the 1950sfinally discovers who she really is. Read full book review >
VINDICATION by Frances Sherwood
Released: May 1, 1993

"A persuasive interpretation, but Mary's extraordinary life is often overwhelmed by the relentless inclusion of historical data extraneous to a celebration of the imagination."
A first novel from Sherwood (the collection Everything You've Heard is True, 1989) that mines with varying success a current favorite literary lode—the Shelley/Godwin mÇnage. Read full book review >