Books by Jan Carr

TOE SHOE MOUSE by Jan Carr
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 15, 2014

"A honey-coated story of interspecies friendship. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A little mouse finds friendship at the ballet. Read full book review >
GREEDY APOSTROPHE by Jan Carr
FICTION
Released: May 1, 2007

"Elementary-school teachers will want to give Greedy Apostrophe a gold star for his efforts, for it's a rare teaching tool that conveys its lessons while being funny as well. (Picture book. 6-11)"
It's not easy to explain the rules of punctuation in a clear and concise manner, but Carr and Long have succeeded not only in explaining the use of the apostrophe, but also in making this punctuation mark into the main character in a witty story. Read full book review >
THE ELF OF UNION SQUARE by Jan Carr
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2004

"Though a bit wearisome, it's full of recognizable New York types and has an old-fashioned read-aloud feel. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Positive thinkers beware. Read full book review >
SWEET HEARTS by Jan Carr
FICTION
Released: Oct. 15, 2002

"A sweetheart of a tale to foster the holiday spirit. (Picture book. 2-6)"
A mischievous panda stealthily spreads some Valentine's Day cheer around his home. Read full book review >
DAPPLED APPLES by Jan Carr
FICTION
Released: Sept. 15, 2001

"Reading it during the summer might make children yearn for the first signs of falling leaves. (Picture book. 2-5)"
The sweet-sour bite of the first fall apple; the crunching sound of the red and orange leaves; and the spooky ghosts of Halloween all come alive in this frisky celebration of autumn. Read full book review >
SPLISH, SPLASH, SPRING by Jan Carr
FICTION
Released: March 15, 2001

"Playful and cheery, this has a basic appeal, but other titles bring spring activities to life in a more definitive and charming manner. (Picture book 2-5)"
Carr and Donohue revisit the three friends and gray puppy from Frozen Noses (1999), this time to celebrate the highs and lows of spring—although pouring rain doesn't seem like a real low to these children. Read full book review >
BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
THINGS THAT GO
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >
FROZEN NOSES by Jan Carr
Released: Sept. 15, 1999

"This exhilarating picture book joyously heralds the imminent arrival of winter. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In a gleeful salute to the frosty season, three wide-eyed and rosy-cheeked children and their little gray puppy spend the day sampling the pleasures of winter. Read full book review >
SWINE DIVINE by Jan Carr
Released: March 15, 1999

"Bender's fuzzy illustrations pose Rosie in the pink, amidst earth tones, shining a light on the humorous, bewildered expressions of one pig with a mind of her own. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Rosie the pig hogs the stage in this comic, farmyard farce from Carr (Dark Day, Light Night, 1996). Read full book review >
DARK DAY, LIGHT NIGHT by Jan Carr
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1996

"The tenderly expressive portraits show African-Americans in slightly old-fashioned surroundings; each frame fits snugly with the text, and the rhythm and the resonance between them is flawless. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An exceptionally warm vignette. 'Manda needs cheering up; her Aunt Ruby makes her come up with a list of the things she likes, and then brings out her own list, which includes everything from changes in weather, to music, to 'Manda herself. Read full book review >
HAREM WISH by Jan Carr
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 7, 1994

"In this case, all too true."
A modern lesbian affair inspires fantasies of a past-life romance in this gawky, enthusiastic adult fiction debut by a children's book author. Read full book review >