Books by Ivan Bates

THERE, THERE by Sam McBratney
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"A pleasing portrait of a nurturing father-son relationship, McBratney's latest should find a warm welcome. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Fans of McBratney's best-known work, Guess How Much I Love You (illustrated by Anita Jeram, 1994), will recognize (and embrace) the cozy tone of this charming story about how to cope with mishaps. Read full book review >
ONE BROWN BUNNY by Marion Dane Bauer
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

"A strong selection that showcases many basic concepts in an entertaining, fun-filled manner, and a solid choice for school or home. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A bright-eyed little bunny looks for playmates to share a sunny day in this engaging, energetic counting rhyme. Read full book review >
PUPPIES AND PIGGIES by Cynthia Rylant
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2008

"Comforting and carefree fare for tiny tots. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A bevy of farm creatures enjoy a few of their favorite things in this barnyard charmer. Read full book review >
WHERE, OH WHERE, IS SANTA CLAUS? by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"A surefire success for Santa storytimes. (Picture book. 2-7)"
Where, oh where, is there a delightfully fresh Christmas story? Read full book review >
FIVE LITTLE DUCKS by Ivan Bates
FRIENDS AND SCHOOL
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"As an excellent storytime read, this will encourage children to quack along—and quite likely, listeners young and old will slip into the song's familiar melody, printed on the final page. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Bates expertly applies full-page soft watercolor-and-pencil illustrations to the classic song. Read full book review >
FARMER DALE’S RED PICKUP TRUCK by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Luckily, this is one ride readers will look forward to taking over and over, allowing them to extract every bit of fun from the trip. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Plenty of wordplay and a rollicking rhythm turn a predictable plot into a practically perfect read-aloud. Read full book review >
HOW MANY KISSES DO YOU WANT TONIGHT? by Varsha Bajaj
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2004

"Cutesy, but a good bedtime story. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Animal and human babies get smoochies in a saccharine, but snuggly, tucking-in rhyme. Read full book review >
GRANDMA ELEPHANT’S IN CHARGE by Martin Jenkins
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"While not all grandmas will appreciate comparisons to the ponderous pachyderms, ones with a sense of humor will enjoy sharing this title with their grandchildren. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-8)"
Human grandmas and preschoolers will relish this picture-book look at grandma elephant, "the most important member of an elephant family." Read full book review >
ONE DARK NIGHT by Lisa Wheeler
Released: April 1, 2003

"Bates's (Do Like a Duck Does, 2002, etc.) watercolors, with their touches of waxy tactility, move with surety and character between tension and sweet resolution. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The circumstances are fraught with trepidation as a few citizens of the forest, at opposite ends of the food chain, meet one another in the dark of the night. Read full book review >
DO LIKE A DUCK DOES! by Judy Hindley
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"The rhyming text filled with repetitive phrases make this a natural for reading aloud. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Five little ducklings follow their mother and do what all ducks do, but when a sixth large and very hairy duckling joins the line, Mama Duck must use her ingenuity to root out the imposter. Read full book review >
BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
THINGS THAT GO
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >
ALL BY MYSELF by Ivan Bates
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

THE DARK AT THE TOP OF THE STAIRS by Sam McBratney
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 1996

"In his first book, Bates chooses a palette of dark purples, browns, and ambers; the mice seem sculpted from the gloom of the cellar. (Picture book. 4-7)"
 In this book, McBratney (Guess How Much I Love You, 1995, not reviewed, etc.) has crystallized every single detail into part of a winning formula. Read full book review >