Books by Jane Dyer

SANTA CLAUS AND THE THREE BEARS by Maria Modugno
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

Once upon a time, there was a clever Christmas innovation on the classic tale of Papa, Mama and Baby Bear, with Santa Claus standing in for Goldilocks.

The bears in this irresistible tale are polar bears, living in a comfortable home with a stone fireplace and Scandinavian Christmas decorations. Read full book review >

LUCKY AND SQUASH by Jeanne Birdsall
Released: May 1, 2012

"Good for dog lovers and romantics alike. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Two dogs living next door to each other become friends through the fence separating their backyards, successfully serving as matchmakers for their lonely owners, Miss Violet and Mr. Bernard. Read full book review >
THERE'S A TRAIN OUT FOR DREAMLAND by Frederich Heider
MUSIC AND THE ARTS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

The words to a Nat King Cole song from the 1940s serve as the text for this bedtime story featuring the roly-poly animals and charming children in soft-focus watercolors that are the signature look of Jane Dyer's illustrations. Read full book review >

HURRY! HURRY! HAVE YOU HEARD? by Laura Krauss Melmed
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

Have you heard? Read full book review >

CHRISTMAS COOKIES by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

Rosenthal and Dyer follow up their popular collaboration, Cookies: Bite-Size Life Lessons (2006), with this delightful sequel, which uses the same format to introduce concepts and feelings set in kitchen vignettes, this time during the Christmas season. Read full book review >

EVERY YEAR ON YOUR BIRTHDAY by Rose Lewis
Released: May 1, 2007

The author and illustrator of the lovely adoption picture book I Love You Like Crazy Cakes (2000) continue the love story experienced by the American mother and her adopted Chinese daughter. Read full book review >

MOVE OVER, ROVER! by Karen Beaumont
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

In this cumulative tale in the tradition of The Mitten and Mushroom in the Rain, a fluffy, friendly dog named Rover makes room in his doghouse for a succession of animals seeking shelter from a thunderstorm. Read full book review >

COOKIES by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
NONFICTION
Released: May 1, 2006

The great sage Cookie Monster intoned that, "C is for Cookie, that's good enough for me." Read full book review >

LITTLE BROWN BEAR AND THE BUNDLE OF JOY by Jane Dyer
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2005

Dyer's signature sunny, summery watercolors illustrate a fairly pedestrian take on the whole new-sibling genre, albeit with series regular Little Brown Bear. Read full book review >

A WOMAN FOR PRESIDENT by Kathleen Krull
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Aug. 15, 2004

Krull, whose many gifts include the ability to make a complicated life comprehensible, and Dyer, whose pictorial sweetness does not mask an iron vision, offer the life of the feminist, spiritualist, and activist Victoria Woodhull. Read full book review >

GOODNIGHT GOODNIGHT SLEEPYHEAD by Ruth Krauss
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: May 1, 2004

Krauss's blatant variation on Goodnight Moon, originally published as Eyes, Nose, Fingers, Toes (1964) with illustrations by Elizabeth Schneider, gets an intimate remake thanks to Dyer's gentle sleepy-time scenes of a chubby, rosebud-lipped toddler surrounded by plush companions—each of which (child included) gets put to bed to a rhythmic litany: "Goodnight windows / Goodnight doors / Goodnight walls / Goodnight floors." Read full book review >

CINDERELLA’S DRESS by Nancy Willard
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

Willard, who previously shed new light on everyone from Blake (A Visit to William Blake's Inn, 1981) to Bosch (Pish, Posh, Said Hieronymus Bosch, 1991), now turns her lens on Cinderella. Read full book review >

LITTLE BROWN BEAR WON’T GO TO SCHOOL! by Jane Dyer
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2003

The perennial theme of not wanting to go to school finds Little Brown Bear trekking disconsolately behind Mama Bear with her newspaper and bottled water and Papa Bear with his lunch pail. Read full book review >

BABIES ON THE GO by Linda Ashman
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2003

"Some babies stand up right away. Read full book review >

LITTLE BROWN BEAR WON’T TAKE A NAP! by Jane Dyer
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

It's hard enough to get preschoolers to lie down for even an hour, but when Little Brown Bear's parents attempt to cajole him into his winter hibernation, the result is a tad more adventurous—and surprising. Read full book review >

POETRY
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

In a perfectly delicious outing, Dyer's (Sophie's Masterpiece, p. 422, etc.) sunny, openhearted watercolors, drenched in color and cheer, match the tender, in-the-moment rhymes and rhythms of Rylant's (Little Whistle's Dinner Party, p. 1300, etc.) verse. Read full book review >

SOPHIE’S MASTERPIECE by Eileen Spinelli
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2001

The creators of When Mama Comes Home Tonight (1998) weave another affecting tale, in which a gentle, eight-legged artist spends her last strength on a gift to a newborn baby. Read full book review >

I LOVE YOU LIKE CRAZY CAKES by Rose Lewis
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

Writing simply, like a love letter from parent to child, Lewis tells the true story of how she wrote to officials in China to find out if she could adopt a baby, and then went to China to bring her home. Read full book review >

HERE IS MY HEART by William Jay Smith
POETRY
Released: Feb. 1, 1999

Smith has gathered often humorous, always amorous poems from the traditional to the new, from contributors with household names to the poetically omnipresent Anonymous. Read full book review >

CRACKED CORN AND SNOW ICE CREAM by Nancy Willard
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

Cracked Corn And Snow Ice Cream (64 pp. $18.00; Sept. 1997; 0-15- 227250-X): An elegantly designed collection of birthdates, folk wisdom, garden tips, recipes, old photos, and family reminiscences that conjure up country life and bygone times. Read full book review >

THE GIRL IN THE GOLDEN BOWER by Jane Yolen
Released: Nov. 1, 1994

Another original fairy tale from the apparently bottomless imagination of Yolen (Here There Be Unicorns, p. 1546, etc.). Read full book review >
TIME FOR BED by Mem Fox
by Mem Fox, illustrated by Jane Dyer
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

A gentle litany of good nights, ostensibly from various animals to their young ("It's time for bed, little mouse, little mouse,/Darkness is falling all over the house") but mostly more apposite to their human counterparts ("It's time for bed, little calf, little calf,/What happened today that made you laugh?"), ending, inevitably, with a human mother tucking in a child. Read full book review >
IF ANYTHING EVER GOES WRONG AT THE ZOO by Mary Jean Hendrick
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1993

Every Saturday, Leslie makes an eponymous offer to one of the zookeepers: ``...you can send the zebras to my house.'' They promise to remember but aren't encouraging (``Oh, no...Monkeys...need things to swing on''). Read full book review >

THE SNOW SPEAKS by Nancy White Carlstrom
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

An Alaskan author describes the experience of cold weather and snow with poetic grace and the conviction of one who knows the ``thin, brittle air'' that makes ``nostrils stick together'' and children who must stay ``buttoned, hooded, mittened, zipped'' while shaking snow from the mail. Read full book review >

TALKING LIKE THE RAIN by X. J. Kennedy
POETRY
Released: April 1, 1992

More like a ``second'' than a ``first book of poems,'' this large, generously illustrated volume will serve children from preschool through much of their elementary years. Read full book review >

THE PATCHWORK LADY by Mary K. Whittington
FICTION
Released: April 1, 1991

The Patchwork Lady wears ``a plaid dress, argyle stockings, and checkered slippers''; in her house—from her toothpaste to the afghan she's knitting—multicolored designs prevail. Read full book review >

PICNIC WITH PIGGINS by Jane Dyer
Released: April 10, 1988

"This will be in demand where the first book about Piggins was popular."
Piggins, looking more than ever like Hudson of Upstairs, Downstairs, is back in a second sophisticated mystery/spoof. Read full book review >
PIGGINS by Jane Dyer
Released: March 1, 1987

"There aren't many mysteries available on this level; this one should serve nicely."
In a picture-book mystery for young readers, Yolen pays homage to the world of Upstairs, Downstairs, to Beatrix Potter's animal/human characters, and to not only Agatha Christie but Conan Doyle. Read full book review >