Books by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

DON'T BLINK! by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2018

"A light read that will make bedtime playful—and perhaps more alluring—for young readers. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Even before the title page, the book presents readers with a challenge: "DON'T BLINK!" Read full book review >
DEAR GIRL, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 26, 2017

"Singularly addressed to 'Girl,' but an open-arms reminder to all children. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Short, epistolary advice from a loving parent or caregiver. Read full book review >
UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2017

"A sweet story for anyone who needs to find a little sunshine and sparkle. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Uni and the little girl from their first outing (Uni the Unicorn, 2014) finally meet. Read full book review >
THAT'S ME LOVING YOU by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 27, 2016

"Combine this with a kissing hand, and children will be ready to set off on their own to explore the world, safe in the knowledge that they are loved. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Rosenthal describes the love an adult caregiver has for a child as expressed through nature metaphors. Read full book review >
TEXTBOOK AMY KROUSE ROSENTHAL by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Long on inventiveness but short on substance."
Ephemera from the life of a children's book author. Read full book review >
AWAKE BEAUTIFUL CHILD by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 17, 2015

"Albeit Beautiful, Contrived. (Picture book. 4-7)"
An alphabetical look (of the first three letters) at childlike activities throughout the day. Read full book review >
FRIENDSHAPE by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"Friends come in all shapes, but these four just may be the sweetest. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The ups and downs of friendship are explored in a geometric romp. Read full book review >
LITTLE MISS, BIG SIS by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 16, 2015

"Jealousy is nothing short of a foreign concept in this charmer of a tale, and siblings-to-be everywhere will take note. (Picture book. 4-8)"
With minimal text, a "little miss" navigates the tricky waters that will make her a "big sis." Read full book review >
I WISH YOU MORE by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"Although the love comes shining through, the text often confuses in straining for patterned simplicity. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A collection of parental wishes for a child. Read full book review >
UNI THE UNICORN by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"A tiny slip of magic that suggests equal quantities of conviction and possibility. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Uni the unicorn is like all other unicorns in every way but one. Read full book review >
I SCREAM ICE SCREAM! by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2013

"Witty wordplay guaranteed to tease and tickle. (Picture book. 5 & up)"
This playful collection of 14 ingeniously illustrated "wordles" introduces readers to homophones. Read full book review >
EXCLAMATION MARK by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2013

"Funny and spirited (and secretly educational, but nobody will notice). (Picture book. 4-8)"
Punctuation with pizzazz. Read full book review >
WUMBERS by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2012

"Let's just hope there are no h8trs. (Picture book. 5-8)"
For the unversed, a "wumber" is a word crea8ted using numbers. (Obviously!) Read full book review >
CHOPSTICKS by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2012

"Who knew there were so many lessons to be learned from a cutlery drawer? (Picture book. 4-8)"
This companion to the well-loved Spoon (2009) is equally charming. Read full book review >
PLANT A KISS by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"Sure to dazzle children, who will appreciate that a relatively small deed can lead to such magical results. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What happens when a kiss is planted? Readers will be captivated as a young girl's seemingly silly act literally blossoms into a generous reward. Read full book review >
THIS PLUS THAT by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Clever premise + artful execution = sure winner. (Picture book. 4-8)"
You don't have to be a math whiz to enjoy these equations that explore many aspects of a child's daily life with surprising results, depending on what's added, subtracted or divided. Read full book review >
AL PHA'S BET by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
ABC BOOKS
Released: May 1, 2011

"A fresh take on a tried-and-true topic. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Less a traditional abecedary than an original pourquois tale, Rosenthal's latest asks the question, how did the alphabet come to be? Read full book review >
BEDTIME FOR MOMMY by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: April 1, 2010

"It's a game played out in families everywhere and executed very well here. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A wry role-reversal tale finds a freckle-faced little girl cajoling her mother into bed. Read full book review >
THE WONDER BOOK by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2010

"Even when they are not absolutely necessary to the meaning of the poems, the illustrations, dynamic and expressive, lend a degree of charm and whimsy to a serviceable, often funny, collection. (Poetry. 8-12)"
An uneven collection of poems and witticisms, the very best of which evoke Shel Silverstein. Read full book review >
YES DAY! by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2009

"Funny and on-target. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Calendar-like endpapers reveal the ways adults daily say "no" to children, with square after square proclaiming such observances as "When Pigs Fly Day." Read full book review >
LITTLE OINK by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2009

"Young children whose literary tastes run to 'more of the same, please,' will be delighted. (Picture book. 5-7)"
In the tradition of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie et seq., here's a third iteration of the conceit that buoyed Little Pea (2005) and Little Hoot (2008). Read full book review >
SPOON by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2009

"Hurrah for Spoon! (Picture book. 3-8)"
This witty tale evokes a strong sense of family with an underlying message of self-acceptance. Read full book review >
DUCK! RABBIT!  by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2009

"Now is that a brachiosaurus or an anteater? (Picture book. 5-8)"
The art of optical illusions provides creative fodder for young guessing-game enthusiasts. Read full book review >
CHRISTMAS COOKIES by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"A simple recipe for Christmas cookies concludes this sweet but fulfilling holiday treat. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Rosenthal and Dyer follow up their popular collaboration, Cookies: Bite-Size Life Lessons (2006), with this delightful sequel, which uses the same format to introduce concepts and feelings set in kitchen vignettes, this time during the Christmas season. Read full book review >
IT’S NOT FAIR! by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2008

"This funny, philosophical book is a treat to share with children of all ages. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In this wry tale, the familiar refrain of disgruntled siblings is taken to the nth degree of absurdity. Read full book review >
LITTLE HOOT by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2008

"Parents too will find this droll switcheroo a hoot and a half. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Another captivating, crowd-pleasing twist on a familiar domestic issue from the creators of Little Pea (2005). Read full book review >
THE OK BOOK by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2007

Promoting the virtues of adequacy, a stick figure with an "O" for a head atop a "K" body demonstrates moderate abilities to skip, climb, hide, share, swim and other common acts. Read full book review >
COOKIES by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2006

"The last line falls a little flat, but that's balanced by the last image of a bespectacled Yorkshire terrier with a plate of star cookies, a pile of books and a star-spangled nightshirt. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The great sage Cookie Monster intoned that, "C is for Cookie, that's good enough for me." Read full book review >
LITTLE PEA by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2005

"Expect bursts of hilarity from young listeners, picky eaters or no. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A crowd-pleaser in the tradition of Mitchell Sharmat's Gregory, The Terrible Eater (1980), illustrated by Jose Aruego and Ariane Dewey, this simply told and illustrated episode features both a decidedly atypical family (all head, no body) facing a familiar dinnertime issue, and a delicious final twist. Read full book review >