Books by Jen Corace

I HATCHED! by Jill Esbaum
by Jill Esbaum, illustrated by Jen Corace
Released: Jan. 23, 2014

"Invigorating and ebullient. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A killdeer chick bursts from its egg raring to go. Read full book review >
SWEET DREAMS by Rose Lewis
Released: March 1, 2012

"A pretty, sturdy-enough bedtime story, but not more. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Lewis (I Love You Like Crazy Cakes, 2000) pens 15 rhythmic quatrains designed to lull a child to sleep. Read full book review >
Released: Aug. 9, 2011

"Get ready for many year-round requests for this 'fangtastic' title. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Incorrigible young vampire Gibbus Mooney cannot wait to try out his new grown-up fangs. Read full book review >
THIS PLUS THAT by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Released: May 1, 2011

"Clever premise + artful execution = sure winner. (Picture book. 4-8)"
You don't have to be a math whiz to enjoy these equations that explore many aspects of a child's daily life with surprising results, depending on what's added, subtracted or divided. Read full book review >
Released: March 1, 2010

"The unflappable Mathilda will tickle and inspire. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Refusing to follow the boring herd mentality of her grazing companions, a visionary little sheep uses her imagination to achieve the impossible. Read full book review >
Released: Feb. 2, 2010

"A charming introduction to a well-known figure and his large but less-familiar family. (Picture book. 4-8)"
While his anniversary year is over as of Feb. 12, 2010, Charles Darwin remains an intriguing figure, as evidenced by this imaginative tale told from his daughter's point of view. Read full book review >
LITTLE OINK by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Released: May 1, 2009

"Young children whose literary tastes run to 'more of the same, please,' will be delighted. (Picture book. 5-7)"
In the tradition of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie et seq., here's a third iteration of the conceit that buoyed Little Pea (2005) and Little Hoot (2008). Read full book review >
HANSEL AND GRETEL by Cynthia Rylant
adapted by Cynthia Rylant, illustrated by Jen Corace
Released: Sept. 16, 2008

"There are zillions of versions available, but the language and the visual harmony of this one makes it particularly suitable for sharing with younger audiences. (Picture book/folktale. 4-6)"
Observing that the classic tale features resourceful children saving themselves from evil rather than relying on "guardian spirits" or other outside help, Rylant delivers a straight, simply phrased retelling that Corace illustrates with clean-lined woodland scenes featuring figures in, largely, modern-looking country dress. Read full book review >
LITTLE HOOT by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Released: March 1, 2008

"Parents too will find this droll switcheroo a hoot and a half. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Another captivating, crowd-pleasing twist on a familiar domestic issue from the creators of Little Pea (2005). Read full book review >
LITTLE PEA by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Released: May 1, 2005

"Expect bursts of hilarity from young listeners, picky eaters or no. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A crowd-pleaser in the tradition of Mitchell Sharmat's Gregory, The Terrible Eater (1980), illustrated by Jose Aruego and Ariane Dewey, this simply told and illustrated episode features both a decidedly atypical family (all head, no body) facing a familiar dinnertime issue, and a delicious final twist. Read full book review >