Books by Joe Berger

SUPERHERO MOM by Timothy Knapman
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 26, 2019

"Superhero Dad would be the clear victor in a matchup against Superhero Mom, though neither can stand up to Superman. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Move over Superhero Dad—there's a new superhero in town. Read full book review >
THE WACKY WINTER WONDERLAND! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"Funny and light but with enough of a plot to keep readers interested. (Fantasy. 6-9)"
Pandora and Granny continue their magical partnership in this chapter book that presents three discrete stories. Read full book review >
THE GREAT GRANNY CAKE CONTEST! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 13, 2017

"This accessible series should lead young readers to the groaning shelves of middle-grade fantasy that await. (Fantasy. 6-8)"
Pandora and her granny return in a new set of stories about witches who cannot refrain from using magic. Read full book review >
THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >
THE SUPER-SPOOKY FRIGHT NIGHT! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"Italics and exclamation points may be overused, but this new humorous series is full of gently amusing magical surprises. (Fantasy. 7-9)"
Shades of Bewitched, the old TV show featuring a witch married to a regular guy. Read full book review >
SUPERHERO DAD by Timothy Knapman
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 26, 2016

"Ready to fight boredom in a single bound, at least for a few minutes. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A small blond boy describes the many ways his nebbishy dad is a superhero. Read full book review >
GIRL & GORILLA by Rick Walton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 26, 2016

"Text and art play well together here—just as well as Girl and Gorilla do. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Resourceful Girl and exuberant Gorilla navigate their way through a venturesome day. Read full book review >
CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG OVER THE MOON by Frank Cottrell Boyce
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 8, 2014

"One last exhilarating ride: 'Ga GOOO ga!!!!' (Fantasy. 10-12)"
The third and (probably) final "official" sequel to Ian Fleming's classic sends the redoubtable roadster careening off the planet as well as through time. Read full book review >
WHIZZ! POP! GRANNY, STOP! by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Corderoy and Berger have concocted a splendid follow-up (Hubble, Bubble, Granny Trouble, 2012) full of gentle humor spotlighting the special relationship between grandmothers and granddaughters. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Granny sure knows how to cast a spell, but her granddaughter, who narrates, just wants to spend time getting ready for her upcoming birthday party without using the special "Helping Kit." Read full book review >
CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG AND THE RACE AGAINST TIME by Frank Cottrell Boyce
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 12, 2013

"The wild ride leaves the Tootings in 1966, carless and in midpredicament. Expect further episodes. (Fantasy. 10-12)"
More of a romp through time than a race against it (though a race does figure in), this second authorized sequel sends the reconstructed car with a mind of its own careening from the Cretaceous to the Jazz Age, Venezuela to the Wild West, while folding in references and tributes to Ian Fleming's classic tale. Read full book review >
PRINCESS IN TRAINING by Tammi Sauer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 9, 2012

"Princess power saves the day in a humorous antidote to pretty in pink. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Karate-chopping, moat-splashing and skateboard-zooming are much more fun for Princess Viola than tiara-wearing and hand-waving. Read full book review >
MY SPECIAL ONE AND ONLY by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 16, 2012

"Give to fans of Knuffle Bunny and to any child who appreciates an intense bond with a special toy. (Picture book. 3-6)"
After getting a coin for her lost tooth, dynamic Bridget sets forth on what she thinks will be an exciting shopping trip only to find she must rescue her most beloved, "special one and only" Captain Cat toy. Read full book review >
HUBBLE BUBBLE GRANNY TROUBLE by Tracey Corderoy
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2012

"Nestled among the burping bats and mischievous frogs, a lesson on appreciating differences is charmingly presented. Let this tale work its magic throughout the year. (Picture book. 3-6) "
As they say, be careful what you wish for… Read full book review >
CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG FLIES AGAIN by Frank Cottrell Boyce
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"The old racer's still good for another lap—and maybe more. (afterword). (Fantasy. 10-12)"
Ian Fleming's strong-minded auto takes a new road trip, and if its passengers are largely just along for the ride, it's still a grand outing. Read full book review >
EARTH TO CLUNK by Pam Smallcomb
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

The boy in Smallcomb's story starts as a put-upon grouchypants but slowly turns over the course of a pen-pal correspondence. Read full book review >
HATTIE THE BAD by Jane Devlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

A theatrical girl with a penchant for being bad tries to be good in this wry exploration of the dynamics of behavior. As a little girl, Hattie had been "quite good" until she realized it involved doing boring things like eating mushy food and going to bed early. So Hattie turned bad, "really, really bad." Her exciting bad behavior makes her a star with other kids but unpopular with their parents, who tell their kids to avoid her. An outcast, the wily Hattie retaliates by becoming as good as she has been bad. Indeed, she's so good at being good, parents love her while their kids are fed up. So when she wins the "best-behaved child ever" competition, Hattie has the perfect response. Berger's lively cartoon-like illustrations highlight overly dramatic Hattie and flesh out her escapades in black outlines, bold colors and varying types and font sizes. When Hattie's bad, she splashes orange across the page, and when she's good, everything's primly pink. A true scion of Eloise, the shameless Hattie's so bad she's just great! (Picture book. 3-5)Read full book review >
BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2009

Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. It's just a small box inside, though, so she wishfully thinks it must be a pet mouse. When she finally discovers it's a cuckoo clock, she is a little disappointed...until a real live ladybug flies out of it: "Bridget called her ladybug Thunderhooves. It was the perfect name for the perfect pet for her." British cartoonist Berger's vivacious drawings of the monomaniacal Bridget and her super-chic parents are thoroughly charming, and the varied, artfully designed spreads buzz with life, speech bubbles, motion squiggles and sound effects ("SPIZZOOOOM!") while still managing to look clean and inviting. Bridget's hopeful nature is endearing, her thoughtful considerations ("It might NOT be a penguin") amusing. Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)Read full book review >