Books by Jonathan Bean

BIG SNOW by Jonathan Bean
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"Winter's chills, rituals and resulting familial closeness, rendered in simple, surprisingly poignant drawings, make this a perennial read at first frost. (Picture book. 2-6)"
David tries to help his mother with Christmas housecleaning, but his mind swirls with thoughts of the big snow predicted to fall that afternoon. Read full book review >
BUILDING OUR HOUSE by Jonathan Bean
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"Raise the roof for this picture book. It's something special. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Bean sets aside the urban setting of his Boston Globe–Horn Book Award winner, At Night (2007), in this homage to his back-to-the-land parents, who built his childhood home in the 1970s. Read full book review >
ONE STARRY NIGHT by Lauren Thompson
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 4, 2011

"This unforgettable interpretation stands out as a bright, multifaceted star in the crowded constellation of Christmas Eve stories. (Picture book/religion. 4-8)"
This arresting story of the first Christmas has a succinct, powerful, rhyming text and striking illustrations unlike any other version of the Nativity story, with art and words perfectly matched in an artistic tour de force. Read full book review >
EMMY AND THE RATS IN THE BELFRY by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: July 5, 2011

"Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Ten-year-old Emmy Addison returns with rodent pal Raston Rat to prove she's a responsible kid who still has what it takes to outwit her former nanny, the devious Jane Barmy, in this fast-paced sequel to Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls (2008). Read full book review >
EMMY AND THE HOME FOR TROUBLED GIRLS by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"More clever, rodent-filled fantasy featuring the irascible, irresistible Raston Rat and the extraordinary Emmy—and Bean's flip-book wizardry. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Emmy Addison and her friends Joe (a boy) and Raston (a magic rat) return in this whirlwind sequel that picks up weeks after Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat (2007) ended. Read full book review >
MOKIE & BIK GO TO SEA by Wendy Orr
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2008

The high-energy twins introduced in Mokie & Bik (2007) enjoy more misadventures as they continue "monkeying up ladders and down ropes" and "soggy sock skat[ing] down the slippery wet deck" of their floating home, the Bullfrog. Read full book review >
THE APPLE PIE THAT PAPA BAKED by Lauren Thompson
FICTION
Released: Aug. 21, 2007

"Thompson again proves herself a master of mixing up a treat—warm, sweet and satisfying; Bean, who explains his multi-step creative process in a note, is someone to watch. (Picture book. 5-8)"
You can always tell when the cooks have added a special touch of TLC to a recipe. Read full book review >
AT NIGHT by Jonathan Bean
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Aug. 7, 2007

"Quietly lovely. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Small in both size and concept, this sweet, gentle story is perfectly constructed and balanced. Read full book review >
EMMY AND THE INCREDIBLE SHRINKING RAT by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"Fun and funny, this fast-paced page turner appropriately begins and ends with the unforgettable Rat in an acrobatic flip-book feature. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Ten-year-old Emmy lived happily with her parents in an apartment above their bookstore until an unexpected inheritance changed their lives. Read full book review >
MOKIE & BIK by Wendy Orr
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2007

"Ending with the triumphal return of their long-awaited Dad, bearing a "soggy waggly scrabbly shaggy licky round black waggles" to keep Laddie company, this set of splishy-splashy episodes will itself draw waggles from easy-reader graduates and read-aloud audiences in general. (Fiction. 8-10)"
With their father "illy-ally-o-ing" on a salty sail around the world and their mother busy "Arting" up in the wheelhouse of their floating home, the Bullfrog, twins Bik (the faster one) and Mokie (the bigger one) are left to "slip slide slipper" their way over the docks in search of adventures large and small. Read full book review >