Books by Lynne Jonell

GRASSHOPPER MAGIC by Lynne Jonell
Released: May 28, 2013

"With Celia, Derek and Abner all having played starring roles in the series, fans will be eager for Tate's turn. (Magical adventure. 6-9)"
Hollowstone Hill's magic (Lawn Mower Magic, 2012, etc.) returns in grasshoppers that, when fried and eaten, give Abner Willow an unexpected bounce. Read full book review >
LAWN MOWER MAGIC by Lynne Jonell
Released: Feb. 28, 2012

"Second in a promising series that began with Hamster Magic (2010) this is a good stepping stone to more challenging reading. (Fantasy. 6-9)"
The four Willow children attempt to tame an old-fashioned reel lawn mower with an enormous appetite for grass. Read full book review >
EMMY AND THE RATS IN THE BELFRY by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: July 5, 2011

"Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Ten-year-old Emmy Addison returns with rodent pal Raston Rat to prove she's a responsible kid who still has what it takes to outwit her former nanny, the devious Jane Barmy, in this fast-paced sequel to Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls (2008). Read full book review >
THE SECRET OF ZOOM by Lynne Jonell
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

A plucky little girl literally rises to the occasion, rescuing a passel of exploited orphans and solving the mystery of her mother's death. Read full book review >

EMMY AND THE HOME FOR TROUBLED GIRLS by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

Emmy Addison and her friends Joe (a boy) and Raston (a magic rat) return in this whirlwind sequel that picks up weeks after Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat (2007) ended. Read full book review >

EMMY AND THE INCREDIBLE SHRINKING RAT by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

Ten-year-old Emmy lived happily with her parents in an apartment above their bookstore until an unexpected inheritance changed their lives. Read full book review >

BRAVEMOLE by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2002

He was an ordinary mole—digging, tunneling, moving dirt—who loved his family, and was strong, brave, and steady. Read full book review >

WHEN MOMMMY WAS MAD by Lynne Jonell
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2001

Christopher and Robbie (Mommy Pie, 2001, etc.) return to the scene on a bad day for Mommy. Read full book review >

MOM PIE by Lynne Jonell
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 2001

Jonell's (It's My Birthday, Too!, 1999, etc.) latest adventure involving siblings Robbie and Christopher comically captures that classic conundrum: when moms are at their busiest, their children are at their neediest. Read full book review >

IT'S MY BIRTHDAY, TOO! by Lynne Jonell
Released: March 1, 1999

From Jonell and Mathers (I Need a Snake, 1998, etc.), an immensely appealing story of brotherly dynamics, and the sparks they throw off. Read full book review >

I NEED A SNAKE by Lynne Jonell
ANIMALS
Released: May 18, 1998

From Jonell and Mathers (Mommy Go Away!, 1997), a charming solution to the age-old dilemma of convincing parents that snakes are good pets; unfortunately, it also promotes the stereotype of female ophidiophobia. Read full book review >

MOMMY GO AWAY! by Lynne Jonell
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 13, 1997

Jonell turns the tables on parental authority and childlike obedience in a terrific story of a boy and his mother. ``Pick up your blocks,'' ``No more T.V.,'' and ``Time for your bath'' are the phrases that set off a small boy's protests. Read full book review >