Books by Ken Follett

WINTER OF THE WORLD by Ken Follett
Released: Sept. 18, 2012

"An entertaining historical soap opera."
Follett continues the trilogy begun with Fall of Giants (2010) with a novel that ranges across continents and family trees. Read full book review >
PILLARS OF THE EARTH by Ken Follett
IPAD BOOK APPS
Released: Feb. 15, 2011

Follett's 1,000-plus-page blockbuster, originally published in 1989, morphs into a sprawling (1.6 GB) iPad app, complete with text, videos and sound. Read full book review >
FALL OF GIANTS by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"With an announced million-copy initial printing and a national author tour, this is sure to be one of the season's inevitable and unavoidable blockbusters—and not undeservedly."
A massive, cat-squashing, multigenerational and multifamilial saga, the first volume of what Follett (World Without End, 2007, etc.) promises as a trilogy devoted to the awful 20th century. Read full book review >
WORLD WITHOUT END by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"A lively entertainment for fans of The Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings and other multilayered epics."
The peasants are revolting. Some, anyway. Others—the good-hearted varlets, churls and nickpurses of Follett's latest—are just fine. Read full book review >
WHITEOUT by Ken Follett
THRILLERS
Released: Dec. 1, 2004

"Follett's trademark tension and breakneck pace manage (just barely) to overshadow the YA prose. "
With an assist from a beautiful former cop, a more or less dysfunctional Scottish family defends home and hearth against superevil Londoners. Read full book review >
HORNET FLIGHT by Ken Follett
THRILLERS
Released: Dec. 2, 2002

"Old fashioned derring-do done right."
Spunky Danes spy and fly beneath the radar of their Nazi occupiers. Read full book review >
JACKDAWS by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 3, 2001

"Ersatz characters, featureless prose, departures from formula nil. But to the Follett faithful that's probably good news."
Another plumpish thriller from the Follett factory (Code Zero, 2000, etc.), this time featuring a sort of distaff dirty (half) dozen. Read full book review >
CODE TO ZERO by Ken Follett
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 4, 2000

"Full of misplaced Cold War nostalgia and dreary, threadbare characters. And really now, amnesia? In this day and age? With a straight face?"
From veteran spymeister Follett (The Hammer of Eden, 1998, etc.), the story of a the space race that never gets off the ground. Read full book review >
THE HAMMER OF EDEN by Ken Follett
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Nov. 18, 1998

"Still, Follett's (The Third Twin, 1996, etc.) eager and ample following will no doubt come through again."
A man-made earthquake is at the epicenter of a dull thud of a thriller. Read full book review >
THE THIRD TWIN by Ken Follett
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"A slow starter whose sly plotting and rousing melodrama are dulled by Follett's bleached, lackluster prose and, for all their contrived eccentricities, his bleached, lackluster characters."
Dependable British thriller-factory Follett (A Place Called Freedom, 1995, etc.) continues his infatuation with all things American, this time with a contemporary, Baltimore-based page-turner about cloned kids. Read full book review >
A PLACE CALLED FREEDOM by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"No surprises, but this TV-movie—bound summer read, despite its flaws, goes down like a glass of cold lemonade."
From the prolific, predictable, palatable Follett (A Dangerous Fortune, 1993, etc.), a not-unenjoyable mishmash of history, romance, and transatlantic adventure. Read full book review >
A DANGEROUS FORTUNE by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 3, 1993

"Interesting financial tips and a sprinkling of naughty bits, but the rest is minor Masterpiece Theatre."
Follett (Night Over Water, 1991; The Pillars of The Earth, 1989, etc.) peeks into the naughty world of late Victorian merchant bankers. Read full book review >
NIGHT OVER WATER by Ken Follett
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Sept. 24, 1991

"Hours of good storytelling."
With the Dark Ages (The Pillars of the Earth, 1989) out of his system, Ken Follett returns to the spies, sex, and Nazis that did so well for him in Eye of the Needle. Read full book review >
THE MYSTERY HIDEOUT  by Ken Follett
FICTION
Released: April 25, 1990

"A disappointment."
An author of adult best-sellers attempts to cross over with a routine mystery (first published in Britain in 1976). Read full book review >
THE PILLARS OF THE EARTH (DELUXE EDITION) (OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB) by Ken Follett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 7, 1989

"It's all quite entertaining and memorable."
Here, Follett sets the thrillers aside for a long, steady story about building a cathedral in 12th-century England. Read full book review >
PAPER MONEY by Ken Follett
THRILLERS
Released: Oct. 6, 1987

"So, though the cat's-cradle plot is a bit too contrived, this is crisp, cynically amusing, small-scale entertainment—without the passionate heroics (or the frequent lapses and longueurs) of Follett's later bestseller-style."
Like The Modigliani Scandal (US, 1985), this ironic caper-thriller, written under the Zachary Stone pseudonym in 1976, is appearing for the first time in US hardcover. Read full book review >
THE MODIGLIANI SCANDAL by Ken Follett
THRILLERS
Released: May 30, 1985

"Donald E. Westlake fans, perhaps, than for Follett's usual readership."
Early Follett, originally published (UK only) under a pseudonym in 1977: an unlikely but agreeably busy and lighthearted crime-caper—with overlapping art-world plots involving a treasure-hunt, a heist, and a forgery seam. Read full book review >
LIE DOWN WITH LIONS by Ken Follett
THRILLERS
Released: Jan. 31, 1985

"Petersburg—is likely to do just as well as its uneven predecessors."
Follett returns once again to his Eye of the Needle triangle-formula—a passionate woman is torn between two lovers who happen to be rival spies—and once again produces only a serviceable, contrived replica of his original blockbuster. Read full book review >
ON WINGS OF EAGLES by Ken Follett
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Sept. 20, 1983

"Still, for readers partial to macho sentiment, gung-ho theatrics, and can-do philosophy, this is solidly diverting action-entertainment—with the byline (if not the shapely melodrama) of a proven best-seller."
Based on interviews with nearly everyone involved (except the Iranians): a competent, not-too-novelized reconstruction of Texas entrepreneur Ross Perot's efforts to engineer the rescue of two unfairly jailed executives in Tehran. . . just as the Shah's regime was collapsing in 1979. Read full book review >
THE MAN FROM ST. PETERSBURG by Ken Follett
THRILLERS
Released: May 14, 1982

"Still, though this is Follett's weakest book by far, the big-name byline and the overall readability (plus a jolt or two of graphic sex) should ensure a sizeable readership—with historical-romantics more likely to be pleased than Follett's usual thriller fans."
Follett, whose thrillers have been impressively tough-minded, goes all soft now—with a pre-WW I suspense-romance that recycles the Eye of the Needle premise (woman adores assassin) but surrounds it with the soupy conventions of corny family-saga fiction. Read full book review >
THE KEY TO REBECCA by Ken Follett
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 22, 1980

"Top-notch entertainment—shrewdly paced, cannily crafted."
If they liked it once, they'll love it twice. Read full book review >
EYE OF THE NEEDLE by Ken Follett
THRILLERS
Released: July 31, 1978

"As it is, Eye of the Needle introduces a fresh if not especially distinctive voice in suspense—and is easily the best first novel in the espionage genre since The Day of the Jackal."
Graham Greene he's not. Read full book review >