Books by Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut is among the few grandmasters of 20th century American letters, one without whom the very term American literature would mean much less than it does. His works include Slaughterhouse Five, Galapagos, and Welcome to the Monkey House.


COMPLETE STORIES by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 26, 2017

"Essential for Vonnegut completists, of course—and budding writers can always learn a thing or two from the sardonic master."
A sterling collection of the late Vonnegut's corpus of short fiction, with several unpublished pieces to balance better-known published and anthologized work. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2012

"Vonnegut's most human of hearts beats on every page."
Selected and edited letters by the author of Cat's Cradle, Slaughterhouse-Five and other enduringly popular novels, letters that reveal Vonnegut's passions, annoyances, loves, losses, mind and heart. Read full book review >
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 9, 2012

"A book that Vonnegut's casual fans and students of his work alike will want to have."
A bookended set of early and late works by the late, great and surely lamented dystopian Vonnegut (A Man Without a Country, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >
LOOK AT THE BIRDIE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"For ultra-committed fans and Vonnegut scholars only."
Early, unpublished work from the much-lauded and much-loved American writer. Read full book review >
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 1, 2008

"In places, we hear that unique, vigorous voice; in others, only the sad but certain echo of 'nothing gold can stay.'"
From the now-silent typewriter of the mordant humorist (A Man Without a Country, 2005, etc.), an uneven posthumous collection of fiction and nonfiction once again plumbing the madness and soul-destroying inhumanities of war. Read full book review >
A MAN WITHOUT A COUNTRY by Kurt Vonnegut
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 15, 2005

"An invitation to survey our current circumstances as a nation."
Very brief essays, displaying the indignant humanism, pacifism and generosity of spirit that made Vonnegut's Slaughterhouse-Five a touchstone of the Vietnam War era. Read full book review >
GOD BLESS YOU, DR. KEVORKIAN by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 15, 2000

"Like, maybe, the novel."
If, in modern times, melody could disappear from music and recognizable image from art, is it possible that the novel can also, at long last, grow free of its imprisoning burden of "story"? Read full book review >
TIMEQUAKE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 22, 1997

"Nobody does it better."
Vonnegut's first "novel" in seven years (and 14th overall) might by an extremely generous extension of the term be labeled an unassuming metafiction. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 5, 1991

"Patchy."
Return of the Old Rambler, doing a replay on his 1981 autobiographical collage Palm Sunday, this time pasting together a memoir from speeches, forewords, articles, and so on written since 1981. Read full book review >
HOCUS POCUS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 1990

"Yes, there are occasional flashes of the old Vonnegut magic (a lovely encounter between Eugene and an illegitimate son named after a cocktail, for example), but mostly he is working well below his top form here."
Vonnegut's latest is his most insistently antiwar novel since Slaughterhouse-Five, and is haunted by Vietnam; the title refers to Uncle Sam's Vietnam propaganda outfit. Read full book review >
BLUEBEARD by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1987

"So, though less arresting or Vivid or disturbing than prime Vonnegut (and a disappointment for readers expecting real development of the Abstract Expressionist angle), this is an easy-to-take mixture of comic diversion, low-key satire, and unabashed preaching."
Likable, jaunty, lesser Vonnegut: the chatty autobiography of minor Abstract Expressionist painter Rabo Karabekian (a minor player in Breakfast of Champions)—interspersed with Rabo's present-day doings in his posh, art-treasure-filled manse in East Hampton, Long Island. Read full book review >
GALAPAGOS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 1985

"But his dark is real enough."
Once again Vonnegut throws up his hands at the human race, condemning it for its overweening technology, war-making, greed and other perversities. Read full book review >
DEADEYE DICK by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 26, 1982

"Vonnegut's weakest fiction ever."
Even Vonnegut's weaker myth/cartoon parables of 20th-century American life—Slapstick, Jailbird—have had a certain gravity and a strange shapeliness in their whimsical digressions, their near-childish interplay between silly plots and Big Themes- Here, however, though the Message circles around such weighty matters as Art and Disarmament, there's no majesty in the doodling, no sense of a pattern worth following to the end. Read full book review >
PALM SUNDAY by Kurt Vonnegut
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1981

"KV—wildly sentimental but hard and funny on the surface—and sure to please his fans while offering sporadic items of interest to others."
Is this "collage" of Vonnegut's occasional writings "a very great book by an American genius" (as he declares in a pretty hilarious mock-preface)? Read full book review >
JAILBIRD by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1979

"Walter is a fine creation, and there's enough of the author's narrative zip to keep fans happy even while the novel fizzles into foolishness."
No one can make America into childlike myth like Vonnegut can. Read full book review >
SLAPSTICK OR LONESOME NO MORE! by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1976

"But then you'll either accord it a smile or a hi-ho-hum in the bum since reactions to Vonnegut are as immiscible as oil and rosewater."
Plus ca change, well just what? Read full book review >
WAMPETERS, FOMA & GRANFALLOONS by Kurt Vonnegut
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 14, 1974

"So it goes."
"You understand, of course, that everything I say is horseshit" — Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. — so damn disarming how can you not like the fella? Read full book review >
BREAKFAST OF CHAMPIONS by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 14, 1973

"Carpe diem before the day is all over and obviously a great many people will."
The thinking man's pop writer," apocalyptic fancifier, convinced moralist, and cheerful doomsayer has now in his fiftieth year "resolved to shun storytelling" and write about life as it reaches its extinction in this the year of our Lord or maybe the next one and via Kilgore Trout, the "only hero of our age" whom Eliot Rosewater introduced years ago, and also via one Dwayne Hoover, a Pontiac dealer whose wife had earlier eaten Drano and who now runs amok on that great Interstate which reaches from here to the void. Read full book review >
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 21, 1969

Then comes the fire storm and "It is so short and jumbled and jangled" . . . because there is nothing intelligent to say about a massacre but it is precise jumble and jangle, disconcerting and ultimately devastating. Read full book review >
WELCOME TO THE MONKEY HOUSE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 19, 1968

"There's the shattering 'All the King's Horses,' a ghastly game of human chess, and the nicest kind of sentiment in 'The Kid Nobody Could Handle' and 'Adam,' All in all, a versatile, volatile talent—inventive, catchy, charming."
Welcome, a warm welcome, for this Collection of Short Works, viz. pleasures. Read full book review >
MOTHER NIGHT by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 27, 1966

"It appeared as a Gold Medal Paperback in 1961."
Howard W. Campbell, Jr. writes his memoirs while awaiting trial in Israel for the war crimes he committed during the Second World War as a big time Nazi propagandist. Read full book review >
GOD BLESS YOU, MR. ROSEWATER by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 5, 1965

"He hasn't made the novel form, at least this one, come to terms with his own prodigious talents."
In the tradition of Joseph Heller, Bruce Jay Friedman, and Ken Kesey, this is another zany exploration of the world of the oversane. Read full book review >
CAT'S CRADLE by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 18, 1963

"Spottily effective."
The narrator is researching for his book, The Day the World Ended, when he comes up against his karass, as he later understands it through Bokononism. Read full book review >
PLAYER PIANO by Kurt Vonnegut
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 18, 1952

"And this new performance on the player piano of western civilization is worthy of more thoughtful attention."
A tough, tightly written book of a brave new world to come, which in its projection offers a tantalizing problem as well as an imaginative invention reminiscent of the early Huxley. Dr. Paul Proteus, a super engineer in a super-mechanized society, finds his life lacking in significance although he is on the eve of a spectacular promotion as the manager of the Pittsburgh works. Read full book review >