Books by Laurel Snyder

CHARLIE & MOUSE & GRUMPY by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"Affection that is as comfortable as Grumpy's old cardigan. (Early reader. 6-9)"
Grumpy is coming for a stay, and nothing gets better than that for two little siblings. Read full book review >
THE KING OF TOO MANY THINGS by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"Skip this tale of wish fulfilment gone wrong. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A pint-sized king's boredom and his easy access to a wizard result in a series of messes. Read full book review >
ORPHAN ISLAND by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 30, 2017

"This charming, engrossing tale set in a vividly realized world is expertly paced and will appeal to fans of wilderness adventure stories and character-driven relationship novels alike. (Fiction. 9-13)"
When the bell rings and the green boat emerges from the mist, gliding up into the cove, Jinny knows that it is time: time for her beloved Deen to leave and for a new child to take his place. Read full book review >
THE FOREVER GARDEN by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 2, 2017

"Loosely based on a Talmudic story, Snyder's tale is a tender tribute to the sustainability of good gardens—and intergenerational friendships. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-7)"
Laurel and her next-door neighbor Honey, an older woman, cultivate a friendship grounded in Honey's lovingly tended garden. Read full book review >
CHARLIE & MOUSE by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"A top-notch early reader, with words and art in perfect step. (Early reader. 6-9)"
Two brothers create four fine and loopy entertainments to fill their day. Read full book review >
SWAN by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2015

"Young ballet lovers will be smitten with the story. (author's note, bibliography, quotation sources) (Picture book/biography. 6-9)"
A poor Russian girl enchants the world with her romantic ballet performances. Read full book review >
THE LONGEST NIGHT by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"A vivid and compelling introduction to the 10 plagues portion of the Seder ceremony. (author's note, glossary) (Picture book/religion. 5-7)"
A Jewish child living under Pharaoh's rule narrates the days marred by the devastation caused by the 10 plagues and the Jews' exodus from Egypt. Read full book review >
SEVEN STORIES UP by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2013

"Overall, there are some pleasures, but this is time travel lite. (author's note) (Fantasy. 9-12)"
A 12-year-old in 1987 time travels a half-century into the past and meets her own grandmother at the same age. Read full book review >
GOOD NIGHT, LAILA TOV by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 27, 2012

"A wholesome and gentle story that's pleasant and soothing for little ones of all faiths, though it will have extra resonance in Jewish households. (Picture book. 2-4)"
The wonder of the natural world becomes more meaningful through active engagement with it. Read full book review >
BIGGER THAN A BREAD BOX by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"Elements of magic add to this enjoyable coming-of-age tale of family problems and personal growth. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Rebecca realistically deals with the fallout of her parents' separation, aided (surprisingly) by a magical bread box. Read full book review >
PENNY DREADFUL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"The novel's theme of friendship will appeal to fans of The Penderwicks, The Mysterious Benedict Society and Hilary McKay's Casson Family books. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Not dreadful at all, this very pleasant book introduces rich, lonely ten-year-old Penelope Gray, who lives in a tightly controlled and boring world. Read full book review >
BAXTER, THE PIG WHO WANTED TO BE KOSHER by Laurel Snyder
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 24, 2010

"While Snyder's glossary glides a little irresponsibly over the precise meaning of 'kosher,' this will nevertheless find plenty of use in Jewish homes, particularly among families in which one parent is not Jewish. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-8)"
The title says it all: When Baxter hears about Shabbat, when "the candles gleam and glow and dance while our sweetest voices lift in song," from an old man at the bus stop, of course he wants to be part of it—but how? Read full book review >
ANY WHICH WALL by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 26, 2009

"Nonetheless, the fast-paced plot and glib narrator—fond of making asides—will keep readers turning pages and looking for magic in their own corners of the world. (Fantasy. 9-12)"
Susan, Henry, Roy and Emma stumble upon a wall in the oddest of places—the middle of a cornfield. Read full book review >
INSIDE THE SLIDY DINER by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Here's a diner well worth repeated visits—but steer clear of the 'chocolate' milk. (Picture book. 6-9)"
In as fine a game of Grossout as ever was, a child squires an anxious-looking friend around a diner in which, she claims, the cuisine runs to Pumpkin Asparagus Pie and Greasily Niblets, the floor is so slick that booths sometimes slide out into the street and the proprietor is decidedly witchy: "Sometimes Ethelmae grins at you, and you can see her tooth." Read full book review >
UP AND DOWN THE SCRATCHY MOUNTAINS by Laurel Snyder
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2008

This delightfully droll fairy tale features a feisty milkmaid named Lucy and her best friend, Prince Wynston. Read full book review >