Books by Dan Santat

HENSEL AND GRETEL by Corey Rosen Schwartz
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: May 24, 2016

"Cheep thrills indeed! (Picture book. 5-8)"
The wolf from the first two of Schwartz and Santat's ninja fairy tales (The Three Ninja Pigs, 2012, etc.) has finally learned to live peacefully—but the fox has yet to learn that lesson. Read full book review >
ARE WE THERE YET? by Dan Santat
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 12, 2016

"A multilayered, modern-day parable reminding readers there's no greater gift than the present. (Picture book. 5-8)"
A car trip to visit Grandma on her birthday feels like "an eternity." What happens when you just get too bored? Read full book review >
THE SCHNOZ OF DOOM by Andrea Beaty
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 17, 2015

"Armageddon-averting fun for fans of Jon Scieszka's Spaceheadz and M.T. Anderson's Pals in Peril. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Can Earth again be in peril from extraterrestrial bunnies? Read full book review >
NINJA RED RIDING HOOD by Corey Rosen Schwartz
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: July 10, 2014

"As silly a trip to grandma's house as there ever was. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Schwartz and Santat deliver a powerful karate chop of a picture book to fracture the familiar "Little Red Riding Hood" story. Read full book review >
RICKY RICOTTA'S MIGHTY ROBOT by Dav Pilkey
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 29, 2014

"An uninspired retread, still with only hints of the wit and silly humor that light up Pilkey's other series. (Fantasy. 6-9)"
New, all-color illustrations on shiny paper add gloss to this reboot of a Captain Underpants also-ran. Read full book review >
THE ADVENTURES OF BEEKLE by Dan Santat
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: April 1, 2014

"Welcome, Beekle. It's nice to know you. (Picture book. 3-7)"
If an imaginary friend is unimagined, does it become a real friend? Read full book review >
THE LONELY LAKE MONSTER  by Suzanne Selfors
Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"Nothing imaginary about the fun (and sneaky learning). (Fantasy. 7-11)"
Lake monster lonely? Leprechaun sniffly? Only Dr. Woo, Veterinarian for Imaginary Creatures, can help. Read full book review >
PICTURE DAY PERFECTION by Deborah Diesen
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"This tale of a young Wisenheimer is plenty crafty and features a satisfyingly fitting requital. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A clever tale about a kid who wants this year to be his showcase for the perfect school picture. Read full book review >
CARNIVORES by Aaron Reynolds
Released: Aug. 20, 2013

"Will young readers swallow such a tongue-in-cheek take on the importance of self-acceptance? With relish. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Poor carnivores, perched atop the food chain and dissed by all their victims—at least, the prospective ones. What a pity. Read full book review >
CRANKENSTEIN by Samantha Berger
Released: Aug. 13, 2013

"Get ready to read this aloud a lot. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Whoa. Be prepared for the intense frustrations, the moody outbursts and the green scowls of Crankenstein. Read full book review >
BECAUSE I'M YOUR DAD by Ahmet Zappa
Released: April 16, 2013

"Funny though the illustrations are and loving though the text is, the book falls short due to lack of nuance. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Unabashed sentimentality dominates the text in this loving promise from a father to his child. Read full book review >
THE SASQUATCH ESCAPE by Suzanne Selfors
Released: April 2, 2013

"More hijinks-filled adventure than mystery, this is sure to win an audience. (Adventure. 8-12)"
Ben Silverstein's summer with Grandpa is about to go wild. Read full book review >
THE THREE NINJA PIGS by Corey Rosen Schwartz
Released: Sept. 27, 2012

"Have the contact info for the local dojo handy—readers will want to try out these martial-arts styles for themselves. (glossary) (Fractured fairy tale. 5-8)"
"Dedication and practice pay off," is the message these three pigs painlessly deliver. Read full book review >
KEL GILLIGAN'S DAREDEVIL STUNT SHOW by Michael Buckley
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"With true fearlessness and finely honed skills, this talented duo has created a most entertaining hero. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Preschoolers everywhere can relate to the steely bravery, sheer willpower and steady determination it often takes to surmount the herculean obstacles a day can bring. Read full book review >
NANNY PIGGINS AND THE WICKED PLAN by R.A. Spratt
Released: July 10, 2012

"Feisty, funny Nanny Piggins and her adoring charges will charm readers and listeners stateside, who'll be overjoyed there are five additional volumes already out Down Under. (Humor. 7-10)"
If Amelia Bedelia and Mary Poppins raised a piglet, Nanny Piggins...could surely beat that pig in a cake-eating contest. Read full book review >
Released: June 5, 2012

"Wonderfully ridiculous in premise and execution and abounding in creative touches, this will surely spark student spinoffs. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Having recovered from the world-destroying science project she created in the first Oh No! (2010), Barnett's overachiever has a new dilemma: Her history test is returned with one point off for an incorrect answer. Read full book review >
DOG IN CHARGE by K.L. Going
Released: May 10, 2012

"A rollicking romp. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Printz Honor-winner Going turns from teens and preteens to preschoolers in her picture-book debut. Read full book review >
FIRE! FUEGO! BRAVE BOMBEROS by Susan Middleton Elya
Released: April 24, 2012

"This winner is sure to find a spot on shelves, although it won't stay there long. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Elya has proven herself a master at painlessly weaving Spanish vocabulary into her stories, and this latest is no exception. Read full book review >
BAWK & ROLL by Tammi Sauer
Released: April 1, 2012

"This flock rocks. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The further adventures of Elvis Poultry, rooster rock star (Chicken Dance, 2009). Read full book review >
TOM'S TWEET by Jill Esbaum
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Totally tweet-rific. (Picture book. 3-8)"
A tweet's anything but a tasty treat for fat Tom cat when his big heart gets him in trouble. Read full book review >
SIDEKICKS by Dan Santat
by Dan Santat, illustrated by Dan Santat
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2011

"Extremely entertaining. (Graphic fiction. 8-12)"
A veritable bonanza of capes, heroes and pets with superpowers abounds in illustrator Santat's first solo graphic novel. Read full book review >
BOBBY THE BRAVE (SOMETIMES) by Lisa Yee
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Bobby is a charmer who will win readers' hearts as they recognize that he is a good friend, a loving big brother and a talented skateboarder—and that his father is, indeed, very proud of him. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Fourth grader Bobby Ellis Chen is back and just as insecure as ever (Bobby vs. Read full book review >
THE ADVENTURES OF NANNY PIGGINS by R.A. Spratt
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"Readers will demand swift release of the two sequels already out Down Under. (Animal fantasy. 7-12)"
Widower Mr. Green's a lawyer who helps the rich avoid taxes. Read full book review >
FICTION
Released: June 15, 2010

"A must-have. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Santat's brilliantly hued digital illustrations are the perfect foil for Barnett's almost-wordless tale of a science project gone awry. Read full book review >
ATTACK OF THE FLUFFY BUNNIES by Andrea Beaty
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2010

"The hint at a possible sequel will have humorous-adventure lovers asking. (Adventure. 7-10)"
Twins Kevin and Joules Rockman are happy they're spending a week at Camp Whatsitooya on the shores of Lake Whatsosmelly, because it means they don't have to accompany their parents to the International SPAMathon. Read full book review >
THE CHRISTMAS GENIE by Dan Gutman
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"Santat's final art not seen. (Fiction. 8-12)"
A fifth-grader named Chase narrates this Christmas-themed fantasy about a genie who flies into the classroom one day, offering the kids just one wish. Read full book review >
BOBBY VS. GIRLS (ACCIDENTALLY) by Lisa Yee
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"Readers will recognize themselves and learn some gentle lessons about relationships while they are laughing at the antics. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Fourth grade was supposed to be the best year ever, but when do events ever go according to plan? Read full book review >
CHICKEN DANCE by Tammi Sauer
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

"Fly the coop to enjoy this hilarious adventure. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A duck-and-chicken rivalry turns foul in this outrageous offering. Read full book review >
ALWAYS LOTS OF HEINIES AT THE ZOO by Ayun Halliday
ANIMALS
Released: May 5, 2009

"Still, despite this cleverness, an additional butt-book purchase. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Rhyming text elaborates on the bottoms of various animals as readers follow a family's trip to the zoo. Read full book review >
THE GHOSTS OF LUCKLESS GULCH by Anne Isaacs
ADVENTURE
Released: Nov. 25, 2008

"A delightful, spirited heroine in an enormously enjoyable romp. (Picture book. 7-10)"
Estrella has special gifts: She can run so fast that she sets fire to the air, and she can also heal and tame both ranch animals and some creatures that are more unusual—like a Kickle Snifter, a Sidehill Wowser and a Rubberado, all of whom have very strange and useful skills. Read full book review >
THE SECRET LIFE OF WALTER KITTY by Barbara Jean Hicks
ANIMALS
Released: April 10, 2007

"Plump and brown-striped with one brown-ringed eye, Walter is a charmer. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Kids won't get the pun of the title, but they will definitely giggle at this superhero named Fang who's disguised as an ordinary house cat. Read full book review >
THE GUILD GENIUSES by Dan Santat
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2004

"Pip comes across as more moody than neglected, but children will chuckle over the urbane visual humor in this promising debut. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The story doesn't quite float, but the sight of a very sad little monkey against backgrounds littered with retro, tin-can robots, wild-haired scientists in lab coats, and puckish sight gags will draw curious readers along. Read full book review >