Books by Lena Landström

POM AND PIM by Lena Landström
Kirkus Star
by Lena Landström, illustrated by Olof Landström, translated by Julia Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"A perfect primer for the existential philosophy required for a small one to make it through the day. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Young Pom and his potato-shaped rag doll, Pim, make their way through the ups and downs of everyday life. Read full book review >
A HIPPO’S TALE by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: April 6, 2007

"Landström's illustrations are as always gently evocative with piquant touches of humor. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Mrs. Hippopotamus is the Greta Garbo of hippos. Read full book review >
BOO AND BAA HAVE COMPANY by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 12, 2006

"Bright watercolor illustrations and a sprightly translation, not to mention the full-sized format, make this perfect for story times. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Thank goodness: Swedish sheep Boo and Baa make their return to America after a six-year absence. Read full book review >
FOUR HENS AND A ROOSTER by Lena Landström
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 8, 2005

"Fans of Doreen Cronin's Click, Clack, Moo (2000), illustrated by Betsy Lewin, and other Animal Farm offshoots, will be particularly amused. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The hens revolt when Rooster gets too big for his britches in this droll barnyard spoof. Read full book review >
WILL GOES TO THE BEACH by Lena Landström
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 1995

"Low-key, but a charmer. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In this very brief, tongue-in-cheek Swedish import, young Will (Will Gets a Haircut, 1993) has a fine day at the beach with his motherespecially after rain drives away any witnesses and he learns how to float and paddle about. Read full book review >
WILL'S NEW CAP by Olof Landstrom
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 1992

"The simple, well-paced drama here is perfectly childlike; the cartoon-style illustrations have the vibrant energy and humor of Quentin Blake, with a refreshing Scandinavian flavor. (Picture book. 3-7)"
The colorful cap is Will's pride and the delight of the admiring friends he willingly lets try it on. Read full book review >