FOUR HENS AND A ROOSTER by Lena Landström

FOUR HENS AND A ROOSTER

by & illustrated by & translated by
Age Range: 6 - 8
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

The hens revolt when Rooster gets too big for his britches in this droll barnyard spoof. Responding to timid complaints that their assigned spots at the feeding trough are smaller than his, Rooster calls in two beefy “booster roosters” to help him crow the hens into submission. In response, the hens enroll in a self-esteem-building course that gives them the courage to face him down—whereupon he stalks off in a huff to work on an “important project.” The sunny, simple illustrations play up the comical contrast between the plump hens and their bantam-sized, fiercely self-absorbed trough mate, and will draw at least as much laughter as the tongue-in-cheek plot. Fans of Doreen Cronin’s Click, Clack, Moo (2000), illustrated by Betsy Lewin, and other Animal Farm offshoots, will be particularly amused. (Picture book. 6-8)

Pub Date: Oct. 8th, 2005
ISBN: 91-29-66336-9
Page count: 28pp
Publisher: R&S/Farrar, Straus & Giroux
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1st, 2005




MORE BY LENA LANDSTRÖM

ChildrenWHERE IS PIM? by Lena Landström
by Lena Landström
ChildrenPOM AND PIM by Lena Landström
by Lena Landström
ChildrenA HIPPO’S TALE by Lena Landström
by Lena Landström

MORE BY OLOF LANDSTROM

ChildrenWHERE IS PIM? by Lena Landström
by Lena Landström
ChildrenPOM AND PIM by Lena Landström
by Lena Landström
ChildrenOINK, OINK BENNY by Barbro Lindgren
by Barbro Lindgren

MORE BY JOAN SANDIN

ChildrenFRANNY’S FRIENDS by Catarina Kruusval
by Catarina Kruusval
ChildrenAT HOME IN A NEW LAND by Joan Sandin
by Joan Sandin
ChildrenA HIPPO’S TALE by Lena Landström
by Lena Landström

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenNUT AND BOLT by Nicole de Cock
by Nicole de Cock
IndieA RUNTAMUFFIN TALE by Melissa Taylor
by Melissa Taylor