Books by Lesley Adkins

GIBRALTAR by Roy Adkins
HISTORY
Released: March 13, 2018

"The story is as compelling as it is fantastic—page-turning history of one of the most important eras of Western civilization."
The husband-and-wife historian team once again exhibit their talent for enlivening British history. Read full book review >
JANE AUSTEN'S ENGLAND by Roy Adkins
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 19, 2013

"For fans of Austen and English history, a deeply informative picture of Regency life."
It wasn't all courtship, corsets and carriages—the grim reality behind a great author's world. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 20, 2007

"This real-life action will delight fans of fictional heroes from the same war—Horatio Hornblower (C.S. Forester) and Richard Sharpe (Bernard Cornwell)."
Sumptuous storytelling recreates the first worldwide war. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Dec. 13, 2004

"Well-told story of a life dedicated to scholarship, with great adventures and derring-do an unexpected bonus."
A surprisingly action-packed biography of the soldier, adventurer, athlete, scholar, and diplomat whose exploits in deciphering cuneiform scripts literally forced a revelation of the originality and depth of ancient Mesopotamian cultures onto a skeptical Western world. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"The authors know their Egyptology, and in them Champollion has found worthy champions. Their highly readable account will be of wide interest to students of ancient history and cryptology—and to anyone who enjoys a bookish detective story."
A taut story of 19th-century scholarly research by husband-and-wife archaeologists, with lashes of intrigue and scandal thrown in for good measure. Read full book review >