Books by Roy Adkins

I was brought up and educated at Maidenhead in Berkshire, a town to the west of London and situated on the River Thames. From here, I went to University College, Cardiff, where I gained a Bachelor of Arts honours degree in Archaeology. It is easy to get h


GIBRALTAR by Roy Adkins
HISTORY
Released: March 13, 2018

"The story is as compelling as it is fantastic—page-turning history of one of the most important eras of Western civilization."
The husband-and-wife historian team once again exhibit their talent for enlivening British history. Read full book review >
JANE AUSTEN'S ENGLAND by Roy Adkins
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 19, 2013

"For fans of Austen and English history, a deeply informative picture of Regency life."
It wasn't all courtship, corsets and carriages—the grim reality behind a great author's world. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 20, 2007

"This real-life action will delight fans of fictional heroes from the same war—Horatio Hornblower (C.S. Forester) and Richard Sharpe (Bernard Cornwell)."
Sumptuous storytelling recreates the first worldwide war. Read full book review >
NELSON’S TRAFALGAR by Roy Adkins
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"All involved receive due honor here. A boon for buffs of the Napoleonic Wars, and a sturdy complement to Adam Nicolson's more exuberant Seize the Fire."
A thoroughgoing study of the most famous sea battle of the Napoleonic era, timed for its bicentenary. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"The authors know their Egyptology, and in them Champollion has found worthy champions. Their highly readable account will be of wide interest to students of ancient history and cryptology—and to anyone who enjoys a bookish detective story."
A taut story of 19th-century scholarly research by husband-and-wife archaeologists, with lashes of intrigue and scandal thrown in for good measure. Read full book review >