Books by Martyn Waites

Martyn Waites, the author of six critically acclaimed novels, is emerging as one of the leading writers of British noir fiction. Mary's Prayer was his first crime novel. He lives in London.

WHITE RIOT by Martyn Waites
Released: March 8, 2009

"Waites's robust storytelling keeps the tale afloat through an early tangle of tenuously connected threads. Though the pitch may be too feverish for some, the climax will pay off for the engaged."
Joe Donovan's team of "information brokers" unravels a tangle of violent crimes that threaten to trigger a race war. Read full book review >
BONE MACHINE by Martyn Waites
Released: March 1, 2008

"Your basic by-the-numbers job, this seventh from British author Waites (The Mercy Seat, 2006, etc.) contains nothing to hate, nothing to alert a pal about."
Joe Donovan is back on the murder beat, but now the investigative work is different. Read full book review >
MARY’S PRAYER by Martyn Waites
Released: Nov. 1, 2006

"Waites's The Mercy Seat (2006) was his sixth, but the first to cross the ocean. His overwrought and purplish debut, originally published in 1997, might just as well have stayed home."
Carrying coals to Newcastle proves bloody dangerous for a hack reporter. Read full book review >
THE MERCY SEAT by Martyn Waites
Released: April 1, 2006

"Unrelentingly dark and more than a little dreary."
Waites's sixth—the first to be published in the U.S.—crosses the pond dripping noir. Read full book review >