Books by Michelle Paver

THE BURNING SHADOW by Michelle Paver
Released: Jan. 16, 2014

"Well-crafted historical adventure. (Historical fantasy. 10-14)"
Bronze Age Greece is a dangerous place, filled with angry spirits, vengeful warriors and uncertain alliances. Hylas, a young goatherd and Outsider, must navigate this mysterious world as he searches for his missing younger sister, Issi. Read full book review >
GODS AND WARRIORS by Michelle Paver
Released: Aug. 21, 2012

"Beautiful, but broken. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
Set during the Bronze Age of Ancient Greece, this new adventure series attempts to navigate a land filled with fickle gods, dangerous spirits and even more dangerous men. Read full book review >
OUTCAST by Michelle Paver
Released: June 1, 2008

"Paver moves her cast along, springs major revelations and brings everything around right in the end, but the plot's most dramatic elements (notably a major flood that is over in half a page) take a back seat to character development. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
The fourth episode in this prehistoric epic pitches young spirit-walker Torak into a struggle to keep his multiple "souls" out of the clutches of the power-mad Viper Mage. Read full book review >
SOUL EATER by Michelle Paver
Released: March 1, 2007

"Compelling from first page to last. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
The third episode (of a planned six) in this prehistoric epic continues its predecessors' quick pacing, vivid storytelling and strong connections between human characters and the natural world. Read full book review >
SPIRIT WALKER by Michelle Paver
Released: March 1, 2006

"One baddie down, five to go. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Starting where Wolf Brother (2005) left off, this engrossing sequel reunites young Stone Age survivor Turok with his beloved wolf. Read full book review >
WOLF BROTHER by Michelle Paver
Released: March 1, 2005

"By the end, readers will have a real feeling for what life in the wild must have been like, and will be looking forward to Torak's further exploits. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Grandiose series title aside, this first of a projected six episodes makes a muddled but strong start, pitting its young stone-age protagonist against a ravening, ensorcelled bear. Read full book review >