Books by Miyuki Miyabe

MIYUKI MIYABE was born in downtown Tokyo in 1960 and worked in a law office before becoming a full-time writer. In 1987, the previously unknown author won the Japan Mystery Writers Association Prize for her short story Warera no rinjin wa hannin (Our Neig


THE DEVIL’S WHISPER by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Miyabi's fourth English translation (Crossfire, 2006, etc.) is a boldly imagined howdunit and a penetrating look at the problems of establishing and maintaining an identity in modern Japan."
A killer with a foolproof means of murder ticks victims methodically off his Tokyo hit list as a high-school student races to save the last target. Read full book review >
CROSSFIRE by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: March 6, 2006

"Miyabe's trademark sociological dissection of contemporary Japan (Shadow Family, 2005, etc.) takes a backseat to Stephen King set pieces in the most conventional of her three novels translated into English. But she still manages to capture the warring loyalties of her avengers."
A veteran Tokyo cop hunts a vigilante killer with paranormal powers. Read full book review >
SHADOW FAMILY by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Less resonant than All She Was Worth (1997), but still a clever puzzle whose commentary on the fragility and reinvention of families gives it a special edge."
A task force from the Tokyo Metro Police Department finds that family ties can be murder, even if they've been forged online. Read full book review >
ALL SHE WAS WORTH by Miyuki Miyabe
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Feb. 1, 1997

"Fans of Ross Macdonald and Julian Symons will have no trouble seeing why."
 In preparation for his marriage to Shoko Sekine, Jun Kurisaka urges her to apply for a credit card in her own name. Read full book review >