ALL SHE WAS WORTH by Miyuki Miyabe

ALL SHE WAS WORTH

by , translated by

KIRKUS REVIEW

 In preparation for his marriage to Shoko Sekine, Jun Kurisaka urges her to apply for a credit card in her own name. But when the application comes back refused, with a notation that all the major credit companies have blacklisted the applicant because of the consumer debt that led to her bankruptcy back in 1987, Shoko stammers, blanches, and next day runs out on her fiancÇ. Why did she act so shocked? Jun asks his uncle, Shunsuke Honma, a Tokyo homicide inspector conveniently on sick leave with a bullet wound. Honma's reluctant conclusion: because Shoko didn't know about her own bankruptcy--because she wasn't really Shoko Sekine at all but an impostor who'd assumed her identity. But this answer leaves Honma with a dozen more disturbing questions. How could an impostor have known enough about Shoko to take over her life so easily? If she knew her so well, why didn't she know about the bankruptcy? What's become of the real Shoko- -and of the woman who just stepped out of her shoes as lightly as she stepped into them three years ago? And answering these questions will put sedate Honma in turn in the impostor's shoes, as he backtracks on her trail and uncovers a dark parable of Japan's frantic race toward an Americanized consumer economy. Miyabe's first English translation was named Best Mystery of 1992 in Japan. Fans of Ross Macdonald and Julian Symons will have no trouble seeing why.

Pub Date: Feb. 1st, 1997
ISBN: 4-7700-1922-X
Page count: 264pp
Publisher: Kodansha
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 15th, 1996




MORE BY MIYUKI MIYABE

FictionTHE DEVIL’S WHISPER by Miyuki Miyabe
by Miyuki Miyabe
FictionCROSSFIRE by Miyuki Miyabe
by Miyuki Miyabe
FictionSHADOW FAMILY by Miyuki Miyabe
by Miyuki Miyabe

MORE BY ALFRED BIRNBAUM

FictionSMILE AS THEY BOW by Nu Nu Yi
by Nu Nu Yi
FictionA BURDEN OF FLOWERS by Natsuki Ikezawa
by Natsuki Ikezawa
FictionMONKEY BRAIN SUSHI by Alfred Birnbaum
by Alfred Birnbaum

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

FictionSALVATION OF A SAINT by Keigo Higashino
by Keigo Higashino