Books by Philip Pullman

THE BOOK OF DUST by Philip Pullman
Released: Oct. 19, 2017

"Magisterial storytelling will sweep readers along; the cast is as vividly drawn as ever; and big themes running beneath the surface invite profound responses and reflection. (Fantasy. 13-adult)"
Pullman's return to the realms of His Dark Materials moves the timeline back to Lyra's infancy with a tale of young people struggling against outsized forces of both nature and evil. Read full book review >
Released: May 30, 2017

"A richly imagined high-octane thriller. (Science fiction/adventure. 13-adult)"
Purloined technology, time travelers, ghost ships, and deception converge in this graphic page-turner. Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN COMPASS by Stéphane Melchior-Durand
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"An engaging adaptation, but some may wish to wait until all three volumes are available. (Graphic fantasy. 11 & up)"
The second volume of the graphic adaptation of Pullman's modern classic follows Lyra's adventures into frozen lands. Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN COMPASS by Philip Pullman
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Best for readers new to the series, who won't be distracted by comparisons with the original. (Graphic fantasy. 11 & up) "
Lyra Belaqua begins her journey north again in this graphic-novel adaptation of Philip Pullman's classic fantasy. Read full book review >
Released: May 8, 2012

"A strong sense of right and wrong permeates the gleeful absurdity of the New Cut Gang's madcap capers and refreshes the soul. (Mystery. 9-12)"
Two 1994 novellas—Thunderbolt's Waxwork and The Gas-Fitters' Ball—plunge readers into the colorful melee of 1894 London in this satisfying, slapstick U.S. debut starring the intrepid boy and girl detectives of the New Cut Gang. Read full book review >
Released: April 8, 2008

"Elegantly decorated with Lawrence's engravings and faux-realia, it is both understated and lovely. (foldout game) (Fantasy. 12+)"
In his characteristic compactly rewarding prose, Pullman offers another glimpse into the world of His Dark Materials, less heady than Lyra's Oxford (2003) but somberly satisfying. Read full book review >
Released: Aug. 23, 2005

"Lightweight for Pullman, but witty, affectionate and fun. (Fantasy. 8-12)"
A pair of valiant adventurers outwits a lawyer and his corporate masters in this comic fairy tale. Read full book review >
Released: Aug. 14, 2001

"The author sets his renowned gift for breathlessly paced storytelling at full throttle, and the result, at once briefer and broader than Fred Marcellino's urbane version (1990), will leave younger audiences enthralled. (Picture book/folktale. 7-9)"
With characters supplying punch lines and side commentary in Beck's vigorously inked cartoon illustrations, Pullman briskly reworks Perrault's tale of an orphaned miller's son who, thanks to a quick-witted feline companion, sets a new standard for rapid upward mobility. Read full book review >
THE AMBER SPYGLASS by Philip Pullman
Released: Oct. 10, 2000

"Readers will be chastened—and warmed—and sorry to see the last page. (Fiction. 12+)"
The longed-for third volume in this trilogy (The Golden Compass, 1996; The Subtle Knife, 1997) satisfies deeply: full of grand set pieces, resplendent language, and glorious storytelling. Read full book review >
I WAS A RAT! by Philip Pullman
Released: Feb. 1, 2000

"The satire is a bit heavy-handed, but children will find Roger's ingenuousness, along with his inordinate fondness for pencils and other tasty chewables, hilarious. (b&w illustrations, not seen) (Fiction. 10-12)"
PLB 0-375-90176-0 Pullman (The Firework-Maker's Daughter, p. 1651, etc.) takes aim at city hall, the law, police, and especially the press in this whirlwind spinoff from a certain familiar fairy tale. Read full book review >
Released: Oct. 1, 1999

"Characteristically, Pullman builds anticipation to a breathtaking conclusion, while Gallagher's distinctive black-and-white illustrations lead readers on a fantastical journey fraught with danger and a dream realized. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Pullman (Clockwork, 1998, etc.) has created a strong-willed heroine who will risk her life in order to experience and become transformed by the world. Read full book review >
COUNT KARLSTEIN by Philip Pullman
Released: July 1, 1998

"It's whirlwind plotting, manipulated into a pulsing tale of darkened hearts, treachery, and at long last, redemption. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Using multiple narrators and expertly concocted cliffhangers, Pullman (The Subtle Knife, 1997, etc.) crafts a thrilling page-turner less violent than his Sally Lockhart adventures but no less breathlessly paced. Read full book review >
THE SUBTLE KNIFE by Philip Pullman
Released: July 1, 1997

"But as it, too, ends in a tremendous cliffhanger, most readers will seek out the first volume while they eagerly await the third. (Fiction. 12+)"
The powerful second installment in the His Dark Materials fantasy trilogy, which began with The Golden Compass (1996), continues the chronicling of Lyra Silvertongue's quest to find the origins of Dust—the very stuff of the universe. Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN COMPASS by Philip Pullman
Released: April 1, 1996

"This first fantastic installment of the His Dark Materials trilogy propels readers along with horror and high adventure, a shattering tale that begins with a promise and delivers an entire universe. (Fiction. 12+)"
Pullman (The Tin Princess, 1994, etc.) returns to the familiar territory of Victorian England, but this time inhabits an alternate Earth, where magic is an ordinary fact of life. Read full book review >
THE TIN PRINCESS by Philip Pullman
Released: April 1, 1994

"A mesmerizing yarn that delivers on its promises. (Fiction. 11+)"
Pullman sets some of the younger characters from The Ruby and the Smoke (1987) and the other Sally Lockhart books center stage for another taut adventure. Read full book review >
THE WHITE MERCEDES by Philip Pullman
Released: May 3, 1993

"The contrast between Jenny, who's self-aware but emotionally wrecked by an abusive father, and Chris, who has a fundamental innocence that's both strength and weakness, gives this engrossing, tragic story rare depth of feeling. (Fiction. YA)"
Readers won't be able to turn the pages of this new thriller from the author of the ``Sally Lockhart'' trilogy fast enough. Read full book review >
THE BROKEN BRIDGE by Philip Pullman
Released: April 10, 1992

"Almost impossible to put down. (Fiction. 12+)"
Ginny's peaceful life in a Welsh village with father Tony is disrupted when it's revealed that she has an older half brother, Robert, also 16. Read full book review >
SPRING-HEELED JACK by Philip Pullman
Released: July 1, 1991

"Hilarious, neatly plotted, and thoroughly appealing. (Fiction. 8-12)"
The author of the grand neo-Victorian trilogy begun with The Ruby in the Smoke (1987) creates a unique format for a thriller for younger children, also set in 19th-century London. Read full book review >
THE TIGER IN THE WELL by Philip Pullman
Released: Nov. 1, 1990

Readers of the series begun with The Ruby in the Smoke (1987) and The Shadow in the North (1988) will know that the idyllic scene that opens this sequel—feisty Sally, content among her friends with her daughter Harriet, fathered by the still-mourned Frederick—won't last, as indeed it doesn't. Read full book review >