Book List

11 Books You Can Read in a Weekend

  • FICTION

    THE SENSE OF WONDER

    JAN. 17, 2023

FICTION

THE SENSE OF WONDER

by Matthew Salesses

A smart, very meta take on love, sports, race, and media. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THEY'RE GOING TO LOVE YOU

    NOV. 15, 2022

FICTION

THEY'RE GOING TO LOVE YOU

by Meg Howrey

Production companies take note: We need a fully choreographed miniseries on a major streaming service ASAP. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE CHINESE GROOVE

    JAN. 24, 2023

FICTION

THE CHINESE GROOVE

by Kathryn Ma

Ma knows how to twist a plot in unexpected, deeply satisfying directions by writing with compassion, humor, and insight. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    SMALL WORLD

    JAN. 10, 2023

FICTION

SMALL WORLD

by Laura Zigman

A compassionate, often funny examination of shared family grief and love. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MARRY ME A LITTLE

    FEB. 21, 2023

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

MARRY ME A LITTLE

by Rob Kirby ; illustrated by Rob Kirby

Panel by panel, this graphic memoir is wry, intelligent, compelling, and adorable. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    STAY TRUE

    SEPT. 27, 2022

NONFICTION

STAY TRUE

by Hua Hsu

A stunning, intricate memoir about friendship, grief, and memory. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    WE COULD HAVE BEEN FRIENDS, MY FATHER AND I

    FEB. 28, 2023

NONFICTION

WE COULD HAVE BEEN FRIENDS, MY FATHER AND I

by Raja Shehadeh

A well-established Palestinian voice fashions a loving portrayal of the unsung achievements of his activist father. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    DYSCALCULIA

    FEB. 14, 2023

NONFICTION

DYSCALCULIA

by Camonghne Felix

A wildly smart, singular redemption story that is greater than the sum of its parts. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    ACTING THE PART

    DEC. 6, 2022

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

ACTING THE PART

by Z.R. Ellor

A satisfying balance of self-discovery and enticing drama. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    FRIDAY I'M IN LOVE

    JAN. 10, 2023

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

FRIDAY I'M IN LOVE

by Camryn Garrett

Romantic comedy that celebrates being yourself on your own terms. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    NERDCRUSH

    FEB. 7, 2023

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

NERDCRUSH

by Alisha Emrich

An enjoyable look at identity and what it means to belong and to stand out. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Featuring 353 industry-first reviews of fiction, nonfiction, children’s and YA books; also in this special anniversary issue: celebrating 90 years of book reviewing, plus interviews with Jessica George, Lamya H, Oleksandr Shatokhin, and Nick Brooks

subscribe
  • kirkus star
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • kirkus prize
  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!