• FICTION

    INVINCIBLE SUMMER

    JUNE 7, 2016

  • NONFICTION

    INVISIBLE MAN, GOT THE WHOLE WORLD WATCHING

    JUNE 14, 2016

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

INVISIBLE MAN, GOT THE WHOLE WORLD WATCHING

by Mychal Denzel Smith

Realizing that he has more questions than answers, Smith cautiously sketches a useful blueprint for radical and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    EVERYONE BRAVE IS FORGIVEN

    MAY 3, 2016

FICTION

EVERYONE BRAVE IS FORGIVEN

by Chris Cleave

Among all the recent fictions about the war, Cleave’s miniseries of a novel is a surprising standout, with irresistibly... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    WE COULD BE BEAUTIFUL

    JUNE 28, 2016

  • NONFICTION

    IN THE DARKROOM

    JUNE 14, 2016

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

IN THE DARKROOM

by Susan Faludi

A moving and penetrating inquiry into manifold struggles for identity, community, and authenticity. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    SONS AND DAUGHTERS OF EASE AND PLENTY

    JUNE 14, 2016

FICTION

SONS AND DAUGHTERS OF EASE AND PLENTY

by Ramona Ausubel

Ausubel’s magical, engrossing prose style perfectly fits this magical, engrossing story. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    JUNE

    MAY 31, 2016

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

JUNE

by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A lightly gothic tale of hearts broken and mended in small-town America. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    SWEETBITTER

    MAY 24, 2016

  • NONFICTION

    BEING A BEAST

    JUNE 21, 2016

NONFICTION

BEING A BEAST

by Charles Foster

A splendid, vivid contribution to the literature of nature. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!