Book List

16 Books We Can’t Wait For in 2020

  • FICTION

    AMERICAN DIRT

    JAN. 21, 2020

FICTION

AMERICAN DIRT

by Jeanine Cummins

Intensely suspenseful and deeply humane, this novel makes migrants seeking to cross the southern U.S. border indelibly... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    APEIROGON

    FEB. 25, 2020

FICTION

APEIROGON

by Colum McCann

Imperfect but ultimately triumphant, McCann’s latest novel might be his finest yet. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE RESISTERS

    FEB. 4, 2020

  • NONFICTION

    UNCANNY VALLEY

    JAN. 14, 2020

  • NONFICTION

    THE ADVENTURER'S SON

    FEB. 18, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE ADVENTURER'S SON

by Roman Dial

A poignant, highly moving memoir of tragic circumstances and a lifelong love of exploring. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE SECOND CHANCE CLUB

    FEB. 11, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE SECOND CHANCE CLUB

by Jason Hardy

A powerful, necessary book with revelatory passages on nearly every page. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    RECOLLECTIONS OF MY NONEXISTENCE

    MARCH 10, 2020

  • TEEN

    DARK AND DEEPEST RED

    JAN. 14, 2020

  • TEEN

    HOW TO BUILD A HEART

    JAN. 28, 2020

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

HOW TO BUILD A HEART

by Maria Padian

An absolutely enthralling depiction of family and self-discovery. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    RACE TO THE SUN

    JAN. 14, 2020

CHILDREN'S

RACE TO THE SUN

by Rebecca Roanhorse

Native readers will see themselves as necessary heroes while readers of all walks will want to be their accomplices. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE PAPER KINGDOM

    FEB. 18, 2020

CHILDREN'S

THE PAPER KINGDOM

by Helena Ku Rhee ; illustrated by Pascal Campion

A beautiful, must-read tribute to hardworking families and the magic they create. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SHOW ME A SIGN

    MARCH 3, 2020

CHILDREN'S

SHOW ME A SIGN

by Ann Clare LeZotte

A vivid depiction of Deaf community along with an exciting plot and beautiful prose make this a must-read. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    RICK

    APRIL 21, 2020

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!