• NONFICTION

    THE RESIDENCE

    APRIL 7, 2015

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE RESIDENCE

by Kate Andersen Brower

A work of great historical interest that is also quite entertaining. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    VERY GOOD LIVES

    APRIL 14, 2015

NONFICTION

VERY GOOD LIVES

by J.K. Rowling illustrated by Joel Holland

That second matter is a point that could stand elaboration. On the strength of this sharp, inspirational piece, we hope that... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    FALLING IN LOVE

    APRIL 7, 2015

FICTION

FALLING IN LOVE

by Donna Leon

Come for the Venetian atmosphere and backstage tour of the opera house, and don't worry too much about the crime. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    BILLIE HOLIDAY

    APRIL 1, 2015

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

BILLIE HOLIDAY

by John Szwed

As with the best of Holiday’s music, this elegant and perceptive study is restrained, nuanced, and masterfully carried out. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE QUEEN'S CAPRICE

    APRIL 7, 2015

FICTION

THE QUEEN'S CAPRICE

by Jean Echenoz ; translated by Linda Coverdale

Echenoz gives us a slim series of elegant, tightly written tales, achieving a simple kind of magic. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    HOLD ME CLOSER

    MARCH 17, 2015

  • NONFICTION

    OF WALKING IN ICE

    APRIL 1, 2015

  • NONFICTION

    MY JOURNEY WITH MAYA

    APRIL 7, 2015

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

MY JOURNEY WITH MAYA

by Tavis Smiley with David Ritz

Readers might feel regret for not having the privilege of meeting Angelou personally, but Smiley has faithfully re-created... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    NOT OTHERWISE SPECIFIED

    MARCH 3, 2015

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!