• TEEN

    BESSIE STRINGFIELD

    OCT. 1, 2016

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

BESSIE STRINGFIELD

by Joel Christian Gill ; illustrated by Joel Christian Gill

An incredible true story that has as much power as Bessie and the motorcycles she rode. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MARCH

    AUG. 2, 2016

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

MARCH

by John Lewis with Andrew Aydin ; illustrated by Nate Powell

This memoir’s unique eyewitness view of epochal events makes it essential reading for an understanding of those times—and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    ALL WE HAVE LEFT

    AUG. 9, 2016

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

ALL WE HAVE LEFT

by Wendy Mills

Both a poignant contemplation on 9/11 and a necessary intervention in this current political climate. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    BURN BABY BURN

    MARCH 8, 2016

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

BURN BABY BURN

by Meg Medina

An important story of one of New York City’s most dangerous times Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    SHAME THE STARS

    SEPT. 1, 2016

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

SHAME THE STARS

by Guadalupe García McCall

Pura Belpré winner McCall delivers an ambitious, sardonically relevant historical novel—a must-read, complex twist on a... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    RANI PATEL IN FULL EFFECT

    OCT. 11, 2016

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

RANI PATEL IN FULL EFFECT

by Sonia Patel

A powerfully particular, 100 percent genuine character commands this gutsy debut. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    THE STEEP AND THORNY WAY

    MARCH 8, 2016

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

THE STEEP AND THORNY WAY

by Cat Winters

A riveting story of survival, determination, love, and friendship Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    MERROW

    NOV. 8, 2016

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

MERROW

by Ananda Braxton-Smith

A sparkling paean to the stories we tell—plain and embroidered, fantastical, amazing, true—that get us through the night. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!