• CHILDREN'S

    BRIDGES

    OCT. 18, 2016

CHILDREN'S

BRIDGES

by Didier Cornille ; illustrated by Didier Cornille ; translated by Yolanda Stern Broad

A work of beauty and a conveyance into human ingenuity. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    OXFORD ROALD DAHL DICTIONARY

    SEPT. 1, 2016

CHILDREN'S

OXFORD ROALD DAHL DICTIONARY

by Roald Dahl ; illustrated by Quentin Blake ; edited by Susan Rennie

Snapperwhippers aren’t the only readers who will find this equally delumptious as a dictionary, a source of inspiration, and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    VIETNAM

    OCT. 11, 2016

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

VIETNAM

by Russell Freedman

Solid history that doesn’t shy away from difficult truths and important moral and political lessons. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WE WILL NOT BE SILENT

    MAY 3, 2016

CHILDREN'S

WE WILL NOT BE SILENT

by Russell Freedman

A thorough and accessible introduction to the Holocaust and the students who dared to take a stand against evil. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    DIVE!

    SEPT. 27, 2016

CHILDREN'S

DIVE!

by Deborah Hopkinson

Fascinating World War II history for history buffs and browsers alike. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE GREAT WHITE SHARK SCIENTIST

    JUNE 7, 2016

CHILDREN'S

THE GREAT WHITE SHARK SCIENTIST

by Sy Montgomery ; photographed by Keith Ellenbogen

This appreciative introduction to a much-maligned species will thrill readers while it encourages them to see great white... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    JAZZ DAY

    MARCH 8, 2016

CHILDREN'S

JAZZ DAY

by Roxane Orgill ; illustrated by Francis Vallejo

Teachers, librarians, jazz-loving families: take note. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SOME WRITER!

    OCT. 4, 2016

CHILDREN'S

SOME WRITER!

by Melissa Sweet ; illustrated by Melissa Sweet

A masterful biography that will enchant young readers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    SAMURAI RISING

    FEB. 2, 2016

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!