Book List

Best Picture Books of 2015 for the Sense-of-Wonder Shelf

  • CHILDREN'S

    BLOWN AWAY

    JAN. 20, 2015

CHILDREN'S

BLOWN AWAY

by Rob Biddulph ; illustrated by Rob Biddulph

A master-class of picture-book writing and illustrating. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    MY PEN

    MARCH 10, 2015

  • CHILDREN'S

    THE NIGHT WORLD

    JUNE 16, 2015

CHILDREN'S

THE NIGHT WORLD

by Mordicai Gerstein ; illustrated by Mordicai Gerstein

A beautifully realized and delightful celebration of night and sunrise. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WAITING

    SEPT. 1, 2015

CHILDREN'S

WAITING

by Kevin Henkes ; illustrated by Kevin Henkes

Waiting as a joyful activity in itself is almost never celebrated; this Zen-like meditation might win some converts. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WILD IDEAS

    APRIL 14, 2015

  • CHILDREN'S

    SIDEWALK FLOWERS

    MARCH 17, 2015

CHILDREN'S

SIDEWALK FLOWERS

by JonArno Lawson ; illustrated by Sydney Smith

Bracketed by beautiful endpapers, this ode to everyday beauty sings sweetly. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE WORLD IN A SECOND

    APRIL 15, 2015

CHILDREN'S

THE WORLD IN A SECOND

by Isabel Minhós Martins ; illustrated by Bernardo P. Carvalho ; translated by Lyn Miller-Lachmann

The book’s extra-large trim is the perfect format for this mesmerizing vision of a thrillingly expansive world. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WAY BACK THEN

    NOV. 1, 2015

CHILDREN'S

WAY BACK THEN

by Neil Christopher ; illustrated by Germaine Arnaktauyok

A bilingual sampler—cold of setting but warm of spirit. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WHEN DAD SHOWED ME THE UNIVERSE

    SEPT. 1, 2015

CHILDREN'S

WHEN DAD SHOWED ME THE UNIVERSE

by Ulf Stark ; illustrated by Eva Eriksson ; translated by Julia Marshall

Gentle humor pervades this father-son tale in the nicest way. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    ASK ME

    MAY 12, 2015

  • CHILDREN'S

    THE WHISPER

    OCT. 6, 2015

CHILDREN'S

THE WHISPER

by Pamela Zagarenski ; illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski

Surreal, staggering mixed-media paintings make traveling across such beautifully varied and bizarre storyscapes exhilarating. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!