Book List

Best Picture Books of 2019 That Celebrate Family

  • CHILDREN'S

    B IS FOR BABY

    MARCH 12, 2019

CHILDREN'S

B IS FOR BABY

by Atinuke ; illustrated by Angela Brooksbank

Atinuke has bottled the delightful energy of the Anna Hibiscus books and poured it into this treat for younger readers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    AMY WU AND THE PERFECT BAO

    OCT. 1, 2019

  • CHILDREN'S

    BILAL COOKS DAAL

    JUNE 4, 2019

  • CHILDREN'S

    FREEDOM SOUP

    DEC. 10, 2019

  • CHILDREN'S

    MY GRANDMA AND ME

    AUG. 13, 2019

CHILDREN'S

MY GRANDMA AND ME

by Mina Javaherbin ; illustrated by Lindsey Yankey

A deep and beautiful book modeling grandmothers as heroines. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    WHEN AIDAN BECAME A BROTHER

    MAY 7, 2019

CHILDREN'S

WHEN AIDAN BECAME A BROTHER

by Kyle Lukoff ; illustrated by Kaylani Juanita

Joyful and affirming, Aidan’s story is the first of its kind among books for welcoming a new baby. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    GOING DOWN HOME WITH DADDY

    APRIL 1, 2019

CHILDREN'S

GOING DOWN HOME WITH DADDY

by Kelly Starling Lyons ; illustrated by Daniel Minter

A warm, loving, necessary reminder of the power in families coming together. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    OJIICHAN'S GIFT

    APRIL 2, 2019

CHILDREN'S

OJIICHAN'S GIFT

by Chieri Uegaki ; illustrated by Genevieve Simms

Like a garden, this meticulously composed work will bring readers serenity and joy. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    I MISS MY GRANDPA

    SEPT. 3, 2019

CHILDREN'S

I MISS MY GRANDPA

by Jin Xiaojing ; illustrated by Jin Xiaojing

A luminous celebration of what we share and inherit from our elders. (Picture book. 3-9) Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!