Book List

Best YA Books of 2018 That Explore Family and Self

  • TEEN

    THE PLACE BETWEEN BREATHS

    MARCH 6, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

THE PLACE BETWEEN BREATHS

by An Na

Thoughtful readers who appreciate literary fiction will find much to savor in this lyrical novel suffused with beauty and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    PICTURE US IN THE LIGHT

    APRIL 10, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

PICTURE US IN THE LIGHT

by Kelly Loy Gilbert

Exquisite, heartbreaking, unforgettable—and, ultimately, uplifting. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    IF ONLY

    JULY 31, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

IF ONLY

by Jennifer Gilmore

Gilmore’s gritty multigenerational tale not only seeks to ask adoption’s toughest questions, but dares to offer no easy... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    FIRE SONG

    MARCH 13, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

FIRE SONG

by Adam Garnet Jones

A touching story that has been a long time coming for the Indigenous community Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    DARIUS THE GREAT IS NOT OKAY

    AUG. 28, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

DARIUS THE GREAT IS NOT OKAY

by Adib Khorram

This tear-jerker will leave readers wanting to follow the next chapter in Darius’ life. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    MY BROTHER'S HUSBAND

    SEPT. 18, 2018

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

MY BROTHER'S HUSBAND

by Gengoroh Tagame ; translated by Anne Ishii

Readers will want tissues in hand for the final, bittersweet pages of this remarkable series Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    SECRETS OF THE CASA ROSADA

    OCT. 31, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

SECRETS OF THE CASA ROSADA

by Alex Temblador

A suspenseful and fascinating glimpse into a Mexican-American world. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    CHECK, PLEASE!

    SEPT. 18, 2018

GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMICS

CHECK, PLEASE!

by Ngozi Ukazu ; illustrated by Ngozi Ukazu

A fun and deeply satisfying read for teens. (Graphic novel. 14-18) Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!