Book List

High Times with the High School Set (and Beyond): Spirited Summer YA

  • TEEN

    NOT THE GIRLS YOU'RE LOOKING FOR

    JUNE 19, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

NOT THE GIRLS YOU'RE LOOKING FOR

by Aminah Mae Safi

Delightful and funny but still giving voice to serious issues of sexual consent and xenophobia. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    UNDEAD GIRL GANG

    MAY 8, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

UNDEAD GIRL GANG

by Lily Anderson

A well-paced undead romp that would be even more enjoyable without the ties to a specific faith. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    STARRY EYES

    APRIL 3, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

STARRY EYES

by Jenn Bennett

A sweet and surprisingly substantial friends-to-more romance. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    THE WAY YOU MAKE ME FEEL

    MAY 8, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

THE WAY YOU MAKE ME FEEL

by Maurene Goo

Snappy dialogue and an endearing cast of characters bring to life this richly-drawn portrait of multicultural LA. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    MY PLAIN JANE

    JUNE 26, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

MY PLAIN JANE

by Cynthia Hand & Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

A fun, supernatural mashup of different literary novels that shines on its own merit. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    DREAD NATION

    APRIL 3, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

DREAD NATION

by Justina Ireland

With a shrewd, scythe-wielding protagonist of color, Dread Nation is an exciting must-read. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    SURFACE TENSION

    MAY 8, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

SURFACE TENSION

by Mike Mullin

Entertaining as a popcorn action flick but politically superficial. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    FRESHMEN

    JUNE 12, 2018

  • TEEN

    ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE

    JUNE 19, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE

by Nicole Williams

Potentially weighty explorations of relationships and responsibility are managed with a light touch in this pleasant romance. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    FROM TWINKLE, WITH LOVE

    MAY 22, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

FROM TWINKLE, WITH LOVE

by Sandhya Menon

Menon’s (When Dimple Met Rishi, 2017) sophomore effort is a charming and sophisticated rom-com that outshines her previous... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS

    JUNE 26, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS

edited by Ellen Oh & Elsie Chapman

A marvelous anthology of retold Asian myths and legends tying the traditional and modern together and accessible to all... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    BRUJA BORN

    JUNE 5, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

BRUJA BORN

by Zoraida Córdova

An exciting read with a wonderful Latinx feel woven throughout Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!