The overall sweet-tempered tenor will especially appeal to grandparents who regularly provide day care, even if with a bit...

ME AND MY GRANDMA!

The special bond between grandmother and child is highlighted in the latest addition to the bear family series that also includes Me and My Mom! (2009) and Me and My Dad! (2011).

This energetic and doting grandma bear patiently plays all day with her young grandchild, racing through the woods, climbing trees, jumping in puddles, performing cartwheels downhill, and skipping stones in the stream. She is there to provide hugs and affection after any mishaps as the day progresses, during which the two discover new cloud shapes in the sky, swim, dive, and fish. “If the weather is sunny, / we go for a swim. / Grandma dives like a pro / and I belly-flop in!” After a long day, Grandma does not look too worn out even as this small bear is ready to be tucked in for the night. “As we head back toward home / in the soft evening light, / I count sleepy birds / tucked in safe for the night.” Rhyming quatrains accompanied by full-bleed paintings depict a happy idyll for this caregiver-and-child duo as they proceed with boundless vitality through their exploratory day. The characters are lightly anthropomorphized, walking on two feet, bearing the occasional accessory (a backpack, an umbrella), and smiling throughout.

The overall sweet-tempered tenor will especially appeal to grandparents who regularly provide day care, even if with a bit less adventure and excitement. (Picture book. 2-5)

Pub Date: March 1, 2018

ISBN: 978-1-68010-079-2

Page Count: 32

Publisher: Tiger Tales

Review Posted Online: Jan. 13, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 1, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an...

I AM A BIG BROTHER

A little boy exults in his new role as big brother.

Rhyming text describes the arrival of a new baby and all of the big brother’s rewarding new duties. He gets to help with feedings, diaper changes, playtime, bathtime, and naptime. Though the rhyming couplets can sometimes feel a bit forced and awkward, the sentiment is sweet, as the focus here never veers from the excitement and love a little boy feels for his tiny new sibling. The charming, uncluttered illustrations convincingly depict the growing bond between this fair-skinned, rosy-cheeked, smiling pair of boys. In the final pages, the parents, heretofore kept mostly out of view, are pictured holding the children. The accompanying text reads: “Mommy, Daddy, baby, me. / We love each other—a family!” In companion volume I Am a Big Sister, the little boy is replaced with a little girl with bows in her hair. Some of the colors and patterns in the illustrations are slightly altered, but it is essentially the same title.

A good choice for caregivers looking for a positive, uncomplicated introduction to a new baby that focuses on everything an older sibling can do to help. (Board book. 2-4)

Pub Date: Jan. 27, 2015

ISBN: 978-0-545-68886-4

Page Count: 24

Publisher: Cartwheel/Scholastic

Review Posted Online: March 17, 2015

Kirkus Reviews Issue: July 1, 2015

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An adventurous treat of a bedtime story.

BEDTIME FOR SWEET CREATURES

A patient mother with a healthy sense of whimsy helps prepare her headstrong toddler for bed.

The story opens with a toddler, fists raised into the air, proclaiming, “No! No! No!” Thank goodness this not-at-the-moment-sweet creature’s mother is patient and creative as she corrals her child into a bedtime routine that may feel familiar to many readers. The words and behaviors of the child evading bed are translated into animal sounds and behaviors: wide-eyed and asking “Who? Who?” like an owl; shaking hair and roaring like a lion; hanging on for a hug like a koala. And, of course, the requisite leaving bed for a last trip to the bathroom and drink, like a human child. Zunon’s art takes this book to the next level: Her portrayals of the animals mentioned in the text are colorful and full of intriguing patterns and shapes. Additionally, the expressions on the faces of the mother, child, and animals speak volumes, portraying the emotions of each. Arguably, the sweetest part of the story comes at the end, when the child asks to sleep with Mommy and Dad. Though the mother sighs, the child climbs in, along with “owl, bear, snake, kitty, fawn, squirrel, koala, tiger, wolf.” (Readers attuned to details will notice the father’s look of delight at the parade of animals.) All characters are Black.

An adventurous treat of a bedtime story. (Picture book. 2-5)

Pub Date: Jan. 14, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-4926-3832-2

Page Count: 32

Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

Review Posted Online: Sept. 15, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more