CHASING VERMEER by Blue Balliett
Kirkus Star

CHASING VERMEER

by & illustrated by
Age Range: 11 - 14
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

Art, intrigue, and plenty of twists and turns make this art mystery a great read. Petra Andalee and Calder Pillay set out to find the connection between their teacher (a freewheeling constructivist teacher), the eccentric woman in their neighborhood, the bookstore owner, and an international art thief. Balliett intersperses fascinating information about Johannes Vermeer and his paintings throughout the two friends’ quest to solve the mystery—a mystery layered with pentominoes (a mathematical tool consisting of 12 pieces), puzzling clues, and suspicious strangers. Helquist’s detailed black-and-white chapter illustrations hold hidden messages, clues related to the pentominoes, and more puzzles. Fans of E.L. Konigsburg’s From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler or Ellen Raskin’s The Westing Game will find equal pleasure in this debut by a talented writer. (Fiction. 11-14)

Pub Date: June 1st, 2004
ISBN: 0-439-37294-1
Page count: 272pp
Publisher: Scholastic
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15th, 2004




MORE BY BLUE BALLIETT

ChildrenOUT OF THE WILD NIGHT by Blue Balliett
by Blue Balliett
ChildrenHOLD FAST by Blue Balliett
by Blue Balliett

MORE BY BRETT HELQUIST

ChildrenGUITAR GENIUS by Kim Tomsic
by Kim Tomsic
ChildrenTHE NUTCRACKER MICE by Kristin Kladstrup
by Kristin Kladstrup

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenVANISHED by Sheela Chari
by Sheela Chari
ChildrenRETURN FIRE by Christina Diaz Gonzalez
by Christina Diaz Gonzalez
ChildrenTHE CURIOUS CAT SPY CLUB by Linda Joy Singleton
by Linda Joy Singleton