CHASING VERMEER by Blue Balliett
Kirkus Star

CHASING VERMEER

by , illustrated by
Age Range: 11 - 14

KIRKUS REVIEW

Art, intrigue, and plenty of twists and turns make this art mystery a great read. Petra Andalee and Calder Pillay set out to find the connection between their teacher (a freewheeling constructivist teacher), the eccentric woman in their neighborhood, the bookstore owner, and an international art thief. Balliett intersperses fascinating information about Johannes Vermeer and his paintings throughout the two friends’ quest to solve the mystery—a mystery layered with pentominoes (a mathematical tool consisting of 12 pieces), puzzling clues, and suspicious strangers. Helquist’s detailed black-and-white chapter illustrations hold hidden messages, clues related to the pentominoes, and more puzzles. Fans of E.L. Konigsburg’s From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler or Ellen Raskin’s The Westing Game will find equal pleasure in this debut by a talented writer. (Fiction. 11-14)

Pub Date: June 1st, 2004
ISBN: 0-439-37294-1
Page count: 272pp
Publisher: Scholastic
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15th, 2004




MORE BY BLUE BALLIETT

ChildrenHOLD FAST by Blue Balliett
by Blue Balliett
ChildrenTHE DANGER BOX by Blue Balliett
by Blue Balliett
ChildrenTHE CALDER GAME by Blue Balliett
by Blue Balliett

MORE BY BRETT HELQUIST

ChildrenTHE SHADOWHAND COVENANT by Brian Farrey
by Brian Farrey
ChildrenTHE FORT THAT JACK BUILT by Boni Ashburn
by Boni Ashburn
ChildrenGRUMPY GOAT by Brett Helquist
by Brett Helquist

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

IndieCHICAGO BOUND by Sean Vogel
by Sean Vogel
ChildrenMADHATTAN MYSTERY by John J. Bonk
by John J. Bonk
ChildrenTOKYO HEIST by Diana Renn
by Diana Renn