A well-meaning but diffident treatise. Read Lewis Dartnell’s The Knowledge (2014) for a more useful take on what comes next.

DANGEROUS YEARS

CLIMATE CHANGE, THE LONG EMERGENCY, AND THE WAY FORWARD

Farewell, beloved planet.

In this laundry list of the world’s many maladies, Orr (Emeritus, Environmental Studies and Politics/Oberlin Coll.; Down to the Wire: Confronting Climate Collapse, 2009, etc.) observes that we’re almost certainly heading for a time of woe thanks to climate destabilization, projecting 50-50 odds that we’ll somehow figure out a way around the worst of the physical and social effects. “For perspective,” he writes, “no sane person would get in a car with those odds of a fatal accident.” Yet we’re all riding on the same planet, and there’s work to do. The author’s prescriptions are seemingly scattershot, but it’s perfectly in keeping for a professor at a small liberal arts college to wish for a curriculum more oriented toward describing the world as a system and that prepares the rising generation “for a rapidly destabilizing ecosphere for which we have no precedent.” Talk about a trigger warning. A little Consciousness III stuff goes a long way, and there’s a lot of it here. Occasionally, it works, as when Orr ponders why we might feel some duty to coming generations “on the unverifiable grounds of my own feelings and experiences such as they are”—i.e., we know that we enjoy the feel of a cool breeze and the sight of flowing water, so why should we not protect them on the off chance that future people will enjoy them, too? Alas, that’s not the way of our time. As the author notes, though throughout most of history, “each generation left things more or less as they found them,” we live in a more fraught time of uncreative destruction. Scientists are rushing to document the extent of our damage, and while humanities scholars ought to have something to say about this, it seems a touch unhelpful to suggest wistfully that we need to be more thoughtful citizens who “broaden and deepen the local conversation on sustainability.”

A well-meaning but diffident treatise. Read Lewis Dartnell’s The Knowledge (2014) for a more useful take on what comes next.

Pub Date: Nov. 22, 2016

ISBN: 978-0-300-22281-4

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Yale Univ.

Review Posted Online: Sept. 20, 2016

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 1, 2016

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A tiny book, not much bigger than a pamphlet, with huge potential impact.

Reader Votes

  • Readers Vote
  • 12

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

NO ONE IS TOO SMALL TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE

A collection of articulate, forceful speeches made from September 2018 to September 2019 by the Swedish climate activist who was nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize.

Speaking in such venues as the European and British Parliaments, the French National Assembly, the Austrian World Summit, and the U.N. General Assembly, Thunberg has always been refreshingly—and necessarily—blunt in her demands for action from world leaders who refuse to address climate change. With clarity and unbridled passion, she presents her message that climate change is an emergency that must be addressed immediately, and she fills her speeches with punchy sound bites delivered in her characteristic pull-no-punches style: “I don’t want you to be hopeful. I want you to panic. I want you to feel the fear I feel every day. And then I want you to act.” In speech after speech, to persuade her listeners, she cites uncomfortable, even alarming statistics about global temperature rise and carbon dioxide emissions. Although this inevitably makes the text rather repetitive, the repetition itself has an impact, driving home her point so that no one can fail to understand its importance. Thunberg varies her style for different audiences. Sometimes it is the rousing “our house is on fire” approach; other times she speaks more quietly about herself and her hopes and her dreams. When addressing the U.S. Congress, she knowingly calls to mind the words and deeds of Martin Luther King Jr. and John F. Kennedy. The last speech in the book ends on a note that is both challenging and upbeat: “We are the change and change is coming.” The edition published in Britain earlier this year contained 11 speeches; this updated edition has 16, all worth reading.

A tiny book, not much bigger than a pamphlet, with huge potential impact.

Pub Date: Nov. 26, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-14-313356-8

Page Count: 112

Publisher: Penguin

Review Posted Online: Nov. 3, 2019

Did you like this book?

As much a work of philosophy as of physics and full of insights for readers willing to work hard.

THE ORDER OF TIME

Undeterred by a subject difficult to pin down, Italian theoretical physicist Rovelli (Reality Is Not What It Seems: The Journey to Quantum Gravity, 2017, etc.) explains his thoughts on time.

Other scientists have written primers on the concept of time for a general audience, but Rovelli, who also wrote the bestseller Seven Brief Lessons on Physics, adds his personal musings, which are astute and rewarding but do not make for an easy read. “We conventionally think of time,” he writes, “as something simple and fundamental that flows uniformly, independently from everything else, uniformly from the past to the future, measured by clocks and watches. In the course of time, the events of the universe succeed each other in an orderly way: pasts, presents, futures. The past is fixed, the future open….And yet all of this has turned out to be false.” Rovelli returns again and again to the ideas of three legendary men. Aristotle wrote that things change continually. What we call “time” is the measurement of that change. If nothing changed, time would not exist. Newton disagreed. While admitting the existence of a time that measures events, he insisted that there is an absolute “true time” that passes relentlessly. If the universe froze, time would roll on. To laymen, this may seem like common sense, but most philosophers are not convinced. Einstein asserted that both are right. Aristotle correctly explained that time flows in relation to something else. Educated laymen know that clocks register different times when they move or experience gravity. Newton’s absolute exists, but as a special case in Einstein’s curved space-time. According to Rovelli, our notion of time dissolves as our knowledge grows; complex features swell and then retreat and perhaps vanish entirely. Furthermore, equations describing many fundamental physical phenomena don’t require time.

As much a work of philosophy as of physics and full of insights for readers willing to work hard.

Pub Date: May 18, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-7352-1610-5

Page Count: 256

Publisher: Riverhead

Review Posted Online: April 3, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more