Jennings’ debut presents a y’all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson.

READ REVIEW

THE COLONEL'S SON

In his short, gruesome career, Cotter Banks—the eponymous colonel’s son—graduates from patricide to serial murder, with gleeful forays into drugs, kidnapping and sexual torture in Jennings’ debut thriller.

Set in Dillon, Texas, “a Town of 9,000 Friendly Folks and a Couple of Old Grouches,” Jennings’ novel almost immediately grabs the reader’s attention with the brutal, premeditated murder of Frank “Buck” Banks, a retired Air Force colonel, by his college-age son. Unlike most killers in suspense stories, Cotter is not rich, brilliant or charismatic; in fact, he’s a goofy, egotistical stoner with loser friends who makes so many mistakes, forensically speaking, in his escalating homicidal rage that there’s no question he’ll be brought to justice. The fun here is in how and by whom. Enter heroic retired U.S. Marshall and acting-sheriff Will Clayton, who deputizes Don Taggert, ex–Dallas Police Department vice-squad superstar, to assist him in his search for the “Right Hand Killer,” so dubbed after Banks’ grisly signature MO. Unpleasant family secrets are discovered along with almost comically gruesome crime scenes—and, for one lucky lawman, romance beckons. Soon the bloody trail leads Clayton and Tag right to Cotter’s ripped-from-the-headlines hidden lair, where an unexpected appearance by a mysterious forensics expert provides the set-up for a possible sequel. All of this may be standard fare, but what the novel lacks in actual mystery, it makes up for with old-fashioned blood, guts and character development. While Jennings’ tidy, folksy prose is a notch above most regional-inflected page-turners, it never strays too far into the elusive realm of Cormac McCarthy–esque “literature,” which makes it all the more appealing. The only serious problem with this book is one of proportion: Its oversized format makes it an uncomfortable fit in drugstore bookracks or commuters’ hands—the natural habitats of such popular thrillers.

Jennings’ debut presents a y’all-infused alternative for fans of John Sanford or James Patterson.

Pub Date: March 16, 2011

ISBN: 978-1450279482

Page Count: 312

Publisher: iUniverse

Review Posted Online: April 11, 2012

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 1, 2012

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Forget about solving all these crimes; the signal triumph here is (spoiler) the heroine’s survival.

A CONSPIRACY OF BONES

Another sweltering month in Charlotte, another boatload of mysteries past and present for overworked, overstressed forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan.

A week after the night she chases but fails to catch a mysterious trespasser outside her town house, some unknown party texts Tempe four images of a corpse that looks as if it’s been chewed by wild hogs, because it has been. Showboat Medical Examiner Margot Heavner makes it clear that, breaking with her department’s earlier practice (The Bone Collection, 2016, etc.), she has no intention of calling in Tempe as a consultant and promptly identifies the faceless body herself as that of a young Asian man. Nettled by several errors in Heavner’s analysis, and even more by her willingness to share the gory details at a press conference, Tempe launches her own investigation, which is not so much off the books as against the books. Heavner isn’t exactly mollified when Tempe, aided by retired police detective Skinny Slidell and a host of experts, puts a name to the dead man. But the hints of other crimes Tempe’s identification uncovers, particularly crimes against children, spur her on to redouble her efforts despite the new M.E.’s splenetic outbursts. Before he died, it seems, Felix Vodyanov was linked to a passenger ferry that sank in 1994, an even earlier U.S. government project to research biological agents that could control human behavior, the hinky spiritual retreat Sparkling Waters, the dark web site DeepUnder, and the disappearances of at least four schoolchildren, two of whom have also turned up dead. And why on earth was Vodyanov carrying Tempe’s own contact information? The mounting evidence of ever more and ever worse skulduggery will pull Tempe deeper and deeper down what even she sees as a rabbit hole before she confronts a ringleader implicated in “Drugs. Fraud. Breaking and entering. Arson. Kidnapping. How does attempted murder sound?”

Forget about solving all these crimes; the signal triumph here is (spoiler) the heroine’s survival.

Pub Date: March 17, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9821-3888-2

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Scribner

Review Posted Online: Dec. 23, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

Creepy, violent, and propulsive; a standout gothic mystery.

THINGS IN JARS

Lady detective Bridie Devine searches for a missing child and finds much more than she bargained for.

Bridie Devine is no stranger to the seedy underworld of Victorian London. An accomplished detective with medical training, she sometimes helps the police by examining bodies to determine the cause of death. Bridie recently failed to find a lost child, and when she’s approached about another missing child, the daughter of Sir Edmund Berwick, she isn’t enthusiastic about taking on the case. But Christabel Berwick is no ordinary child. Sir Edmund has hidden Christabel away her whole life and wants Bridie to believe this is an ordinary kidnapping. Bridie does a little digging and learns that Christabel isn’t his daughter so much as his prized specimen. Sir Edmund believes Christabel is a “merrow,” a darker and less romanticized version of a mermaid. Bridie is skeptical, but there are reports of Christabel’s sharp teeth, color-changing eyes, and ability to drown people on dry land. Given that Bridie’s new companion is a ghost who refuses to tell her why he’s haunting her, Bridie might want to open her mind a bit. There’s a lot going on in this singular novel, and none of it pretty. Bridie’s London is soaked with mud and blood, and her past is nightmarish at best. Kidd (Mr. Flood’s Last Resort, 2018, etc.) is an expert at setting a supernatural mood perfect for ghosts and merrows, but her human villains make them seem mundane by comparison. With so much detail and so many clever, Dickensian characters, readers might petition Kidd to give Bridie her own series.

Creepy, violent, and propulsive; a standout gothic mystery.

Pub Date: Feb. 4, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9821-2128-0

Page Count: 384

Publisher: Atria

Review Posted Online: Sept. 30, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Oct. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more