I BELIEVE I CAN by Grace Byers

I BELIEVE I CAN

by ; illustrated by
Age Range: 3 - 5
Email this review

KIRKUS REVIEW

Diversity is the face of this picture book designed to inspire confidence in children.

Fans of Byers and Bobo’s I Am Enough (2018) will enjoy this book that comes with a universal message of self-acceptance. A line of children practices ballet at the barre; refreshingly, two of the four are visibly (and adorably) pudgy. Another group tends a couple of raised beds; one of them wears hijab. Two more children coax a trepidatious friend down a steep slide. Further images, of children pretending to be pirates, dragons, mimes, playing superhero and soccer, and cooking, are equally endearing, but unfortunately they don’t add enough heft to set the book apart from other empowerment books for children. Though the illustrations shine, the text remains pedagogic and bland. Clichés abound: “When I believe in myself, there’s simply nothing I can’t do”; “Sometimes I am right, and sometimes I am wrong. / But even when I make mistakes, I learn from them to make me strong.” The inclusion of children with varying abilities, religions, genders, body types, and racial presentations creates an inviting tone that makes the book palatable. It’s hard to argue with the titular sentiment, but this is not the only book of its ilk on the shelf.

Banal affirmation buoyed by charming illustrations. (Picture book. 3-5)

Pub Date: March 3rd, 2020
ISBN: 978-0-06-266713-7
Page count: 32pp
Publisher: Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Nov. 1st, 2019




MORE BY KETURAH A. BOBO

ChildrenTHE NIGHT IS YOURS by Abdul-Razak Zachariah
by Abdul-Razak Zachariah
ChildrenI AM ENOUGH by Grace Byers
by Grace Byers

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenREMARKABLY YOU by Pat Zietlow Miller
by Pat Zietlow Miller
ChildrenI AM ENOUGH by Grace Byers
by Grace Byers
ChildrenALL ARE WELCOME by Alexandra Penfold
by Alexandra Penfold