Kirkus Star


Email this review


Rankin adds another Edinburgh cop to his repertoire.

Malcolm Fox, five years sober and still missing the vodka, has spent almost that long as an Inspector in the Complaints and Conduct Department of Lothian and Borders Police, where his purview is to investigate cops who might be dirty. Having just wound up his enquiry into the possible malfeasance of Glen Heaton, a longtime pal of Fox’s boss, Chief Inspector McEwan, he’s asked to look into another Heaton associate, DS Jamie Breck, who might be a pedophile. Things get complicated when Breck is charged with looking into the death of Vince Faulkner, the abusive boyfriend of Fox’s sister, Jude. Fox and Breck, mutually mistrustful but each needing a friend once it becomes apparent that both are being set up to take a fall, join forces to learn how and why they’ve become personae non gratae. Their investigation leads them to an old murder in Dundee and back to Edinburgh and the staged disappearance of formerly rich developer Charlie Brogan, who was disrespected by his father-in-law, in hock for millions to a sleazy creditor, and lied about by his posh wife. Hidden agendas abound, not only among career criminals but among various coppers, including the Chief Inspector and the Chief Constable.

Will readers miss Rankin’s long-running protagonist, John Rebus (Exit Music, 2008, etc.)? Don’t see why they should. Bonus: Rankin’s plotting and prose are as compelling as ever.

Pub Date: March 7th, 2011
ISBN: 978-0-316-03974-1
Page count: 448pp
Publisher: Reagan Arthur/Little, Brown
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15th, 2011


FictionGUILT BY ASSOCIATION by Marcia Clark
by Marcia Clark
FictionRED ON RED by Edward Conlon
by Edward Conlon
FictionTHE TRINITY SIX by Charles Cumming
by Charles Cumming
FictionVERY BAD MEN by Harry Dolan
by Harry Dolan
Kirkus Interview
Ian Rankin
August 11, 2015

Brilliant, irascible and frequently frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, John Rebus has made the dark places of Edinburgh his home for over two decades. The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories collects all of Ian Rankin's Rebus short stories for the first time, including two never-before published tales written specifically for this collection. From his beginnings as a young Detective Constable in “Dead and Buried,” right up to his dramatic, but not quite final, retirement in “The Very Last Drop,” Rebus shines in these stories, confirming his status as one of crime fiction's most compelling, brilliant, and unforgettable characters. “Rankin’s canny cop is as gray and dour as his Edinburgh beat, but he’s in fine form in these clever, occasionally touching, and often wryly funny vignettes,” our reviewer writes; we talk to Rankin this week on Kirkus TV. View video >


MysteryRATHER BE THE DEVIL by Ian Rankin
by Ian Rankin
MysteryEVEN DOGS IN THE WILD by Ian Rankin
by Ian Rankin
MysteryTHE BEAT GOES ON by Ian Rankin
by Ian Rankin


MysteryGRIEVOUS ANGEL by Quintin Jardine
by Quintin Jardine
FictionGODS AND BEASTS by Denise Mina
by Denise Mina