A solid start to an essential, gender-inclusive conversation.

READ REVIEW

THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID

WHAT MEN NEED TO KNOW AND WOMEN NEED TO TELL THEM ABOUT WORKING TOGETHER

A sweeping, salient survey of the gender gap in corporate America.

There are scores of bestselling books about being female in the workplace, most of which are written by women for women. Lipman (co-author: Strings Attached: One Tough Teacher and the Art of Perfection, 2013, etc.) attempts to bump the dialogue to another level by including men in the conversation. Currently the chief content officer of Gannett and editor-in-chief of USA Today, the author has long been a fixture in the upper echelons of American journalism. In this volume, she combines decades of her own observations and experiences with a profusion of data-driven research about the state of the gender union—or disunion—in the workplace. The sheer number of stories and statistics can be overwhelming at times, but they do conclusively demonstrate that inequality and sexism are alive and well in the workplace. Establishing these facts seems less about proving a point and more about getting details out of the way before moving to the main inquiry of the book—namely, how to bring about real change? Lipman chronicles numerous initiatives—many spearheaded by men—indicating that, “despite intractable issues of misogyny and abuse in some corners, we are closing in on solutions.” Such programs as formal mentoring programs, blind job applications, and various educational initiatives are making a difference, though on a grand scale, the gains appear to be slight and slow. Despite the many obstacles, the book is packed with pithy insights on how real change might occur. The author notes that it will take more than just men and women reaching across the gender divide and working together; it will also require each sex to examine how they are perpetuating a workplace ideal that favors men. Impressively, Lipman manages to call out the problem and stare it squarely in the face without demonizing or alienating those who are vital to its solution.

A solid start to an essential, gender-inclusive conversation.

Pub Date: Feb. 13, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-06-243721-1

Page Count: 320

Publisher: Morrow/HarperCollins

Review Posted Online: Nov. 14, 2017

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Dec. 1, 2017

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our...

THINKING, FAST AND SLOW

A psychologist and Nobel Prize winner summarizes and synthesizes the recent decades of research on intuition and systematic thinking.

The author of several scholarly texts, Kahneman (Emeritus Psychology and Public Affairs/Princeton Univ.) now offers general readers not just the findings of psychological research but also a better understanding of how research questions arise and how scholars systematically frame and answer them. He begins with the distinction between System 1 and System 2 mental operations, the former referring to quick, automatic thought, the latter to more effortful, overt thinking. We rely heavily, writes, on System 1, resorting to the higher-energy System 2 only when we need or want to. Kahneman continually refers to System 2 as “lazy”: We don’t want to think rigorously about something. The author then explores the nuances of our two-system minds, showing how they perform in various situations. Psychological experiments have repeatedly revealed that our intuitions are generally wrong, that our assessments are based on biases and that our System 1 hates doubt and despises ambiguity. Kahneman largely avoids jargon; when he does use some (“heuristics,” for example), he argues that such terms really ought to join our everyday vocabulary. He reviews many fundamental concepts in psychology and statistics (regression to the mean, the narrative fallacy, the optimistic bias), showing how they relate to his overall concerns about how we think and why we make the decisions that we do. Some of the later chapters (dealing with risk-taking and statistics and probabilities) are denser than others (some readers may resent such demands on System 2!), but the passages that deal with the economic and political implications of the research are gripping.

Striking research showing the immense complexity of ordinary thought and revealing the identities of the gatekeepers in our minds.

Pub Date: Nov. 1, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-374-27563-1

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Review Posted Online: Sept. 4, 2011

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Sept. 15, 2011

Did you like this book?

A readable, persuasive argument that our ways of doing business will have to change if we are to prosper—or even survive.

REIMAGINING CAPITALISM IN A WORLD ON FIRE

A well-constructed critique of an economic system that, by the author’s account, is a driver of the world’s destruction.

Harvard Business School professor Henderson vigorously questions the bromide that “management’s only duty is to maximize shareholder value,” a notion advanced by Milton Friedman and accepted uncritically in business schools ever since. By that logic, writes the author, there is no reason why corporations should not fish out the oceans, raise drug prices, militate against public education (since it costs tax money), and otherwise behave ruinously and anti-socially. Many do, even though an alternative theory of business organization argues that corporations and society should enjoy a symbiotic relationship of mutual benefit, which includes corporate investment in what economists call public goods. Given that the history of humankind is “the story of our increasing ability to cooperate at larger and larger scales,” one would hope that in the face of environmental degradation and other threats, we might adopt the symbiotic model rather than the winner-take-all one. Problems abound, of course, including that of the “free rider,” the corporation that takes the benefits from collaborative agreements but does none of the work. Henderson examines case studies such as a large food company that emphasized environmentally responsible production and in turn built “purpose-led, sustainable living brands” and otherwise led the way in increasing shareholder value by reducing risk while building demand. The author argues that the “short-termism” that dominates corporate thinking needs to be adjusted to a longer view even though the larger problem might be better characterized as “failure of information.” Henderson closes with a set of prescriptions for bringing a more equitable economics to the personal level, one that, among other things, asks us to step outside routine—eat less meat, drive less—and become active in forcing corporations (and politicians) to be better citizens.

A readable, persuasive argument that our ways of doing business will have to change if we are to prosper—or even survive.

Pub Date: May 1, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-5417-3015-1

Page Count: 336

Publisher: PublicAffairs

Review Posted Online: Feb. 17, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 15, 2020

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more