ROAR BACK

Remarkable stuff. Fans of Bill James’ Harpur and Iles saga of cops and robbers are in for quite a treat.

Montreal cop Émile Cinq-Mars (Ball Park, 2019, etc.) follows a winding trail from 28 break-ins at an apartment complex to a gang war that could level a lot more than the playing field.

After punching holes in the windows of 17 of the apartments and snipping the locks on the storage sheds of 11 more, the thieves helped themselves to all the toasters they could carry. Why take all this trouble on a single night to heist such negligible swag and leave behind a dead man pinned to the inside of a closet with a machete? Before Cinq-Mars, newly promoted to sergeant-detective in 1978, can get much further than asking this question, his retired mentor, Capt. Armand Touton, commands him to persuade the Rev. Alex Montour not to attend the parole hearing to urge the release of car thief Johnny Bondar, who really needs to stay in prison. Montour, a pastor who turns out to be a woman, won’t be persuaded; Bondar is duly set loose; and things promptly get weirder and more violent. Soon after Cinq-Mars and Detective Norville "Poof-Poof" Geoffrion, the hapless partner assigned to him, interview Moira Ellibee, a robbery victim who assured them that the man who assaulted her in the process must have been an apparition because she’s been under the personal protection of the Blessed Virgin since she was 14, mobster Dominic "The Dime" Letourneau and his mistress du jour are blown to pieces. When Poof-Poof follows Detective Alfred Morin and Sergeant-Detective Jerôme LaFôret, the homicide detectives who’ve grabbed the machete murder from them, to Bondar’s coming-out party, Bondar is killed along with Poof-Poof. All these crimes are connected, more or less, by the figure of Willy "Coalface" d’Alessandro, a cop whose two decades undercover with the mob have given him a tapestry of loyalties as complicated as his survival instinct is simple.

Remarkable stuff. Fans of Bill James’ Harpur and Iles saga of cops and robbers are in for quite a treat.

Pub Date: May 5, 2020

ISBN: 978-0727889379

Page Count: 256

Publisher: Severn House

Review Posted Online: Feb. 8, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 1, 2020

Awards & Accolades

Likes

  • Readers Vote
  • 126


Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT


  • New York Times Bestseller

DEVOLUTION

A tasty, if not always tasteful, tale of supernatural mayhem that fans of King and Crichton alike will enjoy.

Awards & Accolades

Likes

  • Readers Vote
  • 126


Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT


  • New York Times Bestseller

Are we not men? We are—well, ask Bigfoot, as Brooks does in this delightful yarn, following on his bestseller World War Z (2006).

A zombie apocalypse is one thing. A volcanic eruption is quite another, for, as the journalist who does a framing voice-over narration for Brooks’ latest puts it, when Mount Rainier popped its cork, “it was the psychological aspect, the hyperbole-fueled hysteria that had ended up killing the most people.” Maybe, but the sasquatches whom the volcano displaced contributed to the statistics, too, if only out of self-defense. Brooks places the epicenter of the Bigfoot war in a high-tech hideaway populated by the kind of people you might find in a Jurassic Park franchise: the schmo who doesn’t know how to do much of anything but tries anyway, the well-intentioned bleeding heart, the know-it-all intellectual who turns out to know the wrong things, the immigrant with a tough backstory and an instinct for survival. Indeed, the novel does double duty as a survival manual, packed full of good advice—for instance, try not to get wounded, for “injury turns you from a giver to a taker. Taking up our resources, our time to care for you.” Brooks presents a case for making room for Bigfoot in the world while peppering his narrative with timely social criticism about bad behavior on the human side of the conflict: The explosion of Rainier might have been better forecast had the president not slashed the budget of the U.S. Geological Survey, leading to “immediate suspension of the National Volcano Early Warning System,” and there’s always someone around looking to monetize the natural disaster and the sasquatch-y onslaught that follows. Brooks is a pro at building suspense even if it plays out in some rather spectacularly yucky episodes, one involving a short spear that takes its name from “the sucking sound of pulling it out of the dead man’s heart and lungs.” Grossness aside, it puts you right there on the scene.

A tasty, if not always tasteful, tale of supernatural mayhem that fans of King and Crichton alike will enjoy.

Pub Date: June 16, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9848-2678-7

Page Count: 304

Publisher: Del Rey/Ballantine

Review Posted Online: Feb. 9, 2020

Kirkus Reviews Issue: March 1, 2020

A CONSPIRACY OF BONES

Forget about solving all these crimes; the signal triumph here is (spoiler) the heroine’s survival.

Another sweltering month in Charlotte, another boatload of mysteries past and present for overworked, overstressed forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan.

A week after the night she chases but fails to catch a mysterious trespasser outside her town house, some unknown party texts Tempe four images of a corpse that looks as if it’s been chewed by wild hogs, because it has been. Showboat Medical Examiner Margot Heavner makes it clear that, breaking with her department’s earlier practice (The Bone Collection, 2016, etc.), she has no intention of calling in Tempe as a consultant and promptly identifies the faceless body herself as that of a young Asian man. Nettled by several errors in Heavner’s analysis, and even more by her willingness to share the gory details at a press conference, Tempe launches her own investigation, which is not so much off the books as against the books. Heavner isn’t exactly mollified when Tempe, aided by retired police detective Skinny Slidell and a host of experts, puts a name to the dead man. But the hints of other crimes Tempe’s identification uncovers, particularly crimes against children, spur her on to redouble her efforts despite the new M.E.’s splenetic outbursts. Before he died, it seems, Felix Vodyanov was linked to a passenger ferry that sank in 1994, an even earlier U.S. government project to research biological agents that could control human behavior, the hinky spiritual retreat Sparkling Waters, the dark web site DeepUnder, and the disappearances of at least four schoolchildren, two of whom have also turned up dead. And why on earth was Vodyanov carrying Tempe’s own contact information? The mounting evidence of ever more and ever worse skulduggery will pull Tempe deeper and deeper down what even she sees as a rabbit hole before she confronts a ringleader implicated in “Drugs. Fraud. Breaking and entering. Arson. Kidnapping. How does attempted murder sound?”

Forget about solving all these crimes; the signal triumph here is (spoiler) the heroine’s survival.

Pub Date: March 17, 2020

ISBN: 978-1-9821-3888-2

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Scribner

Review Posted Online: Dec. 22, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 15, 2020

Close Quickview