MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner

MARTY MCGUIRE

From the "Marty McGuire" series, volume 1
by , illustrated by
Age Range: 7 - 10

KIRKUS REVIEW

When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role.

Mrs. Aloi, her maracas-shaking teacher, is putting together the parts for the class play of The Frog Prince, and she decides that Marty is perfect for the part of the princess. Marty, who prefers learning about frog anatomy to kissing or, worse, throwing a frog, is horrified. She gets little support from her scientist mother or her teacher father—a princess she shall be! On top of this bad news, Marty’s best friend has joined the girly-girl group and does not seem interested in playing outside and pretending to be Jane Goodall anymore. Messner gets all the details of third grade right: the social chasm between the girls who want to be like the older kids and the ones who are still little girls, the Mad Minutes for memorizing arithmetic facts, the silly classroom-control devices teachers use and the energy students of this age put into projects like class plays. Floca’s black-and-white sketches are filled with movement and emotion and are frequent enough to help new chapter-book readers keep up with this longer text.

Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)

Pub Date: May 1st, 2011
ISBN: 978-0-545-14244-1
Page count: 144pp
Publisher: Scholastic
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: April 15th, 2011




SPIRITED CHAPTER BOOK HEROINES:

Children ALLIE FINKLE’S RULES-FOR-GIRLS by Meg Cabot
by Meg Cabot
Children IVY AND BEAN by Annie Barrows
by Annie Barrows
Children NIKKI & DEJA by Karen English
by Karen English
Children MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
by Kate Messner

MORE BY KATE MESSNER

ChildrenWAKE UP MISSING by Kate Messner
by Kate Messner
ChildrenSEA MONSTER AND THE BOSSY FISH by Kate Messner
by Kate Messner
ChildrenHIDE AND SEEK by Kate Messner
by Kate Messner

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

ChildrenGOONEY BIRD ON THE MAP by Lois Lowry
by Lois Lowry
ChildrenSTINK AND THE FREAKY FROG FREAKOUT by Megan McDonald
by Megan McDonald